Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Galway Junior Senior High School

Public | 7-12 | 529 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2012

I graduted from this school many moons ago. I hasn't grown at all since the 20+ years ago I was here. I actually has declined in enrollment. My kids now go here and I am really not happy with the future I see for the school. They offer the bare minium in acdemics and they only offer varisity sports. There is a booster club that tries to support the modified and JV programs. My daughter has lost over 20% of her classmates moving to other districts, private schools or home schooling. I understand with the economy times are tough but they need to stop patching a sinking ship and move on for the sake of the kids. They need more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2011

Galway is a great school!! I have since graduated and I realize what a good place it is. Unlike the other reviews say, new students are not isolated. We have plenty of students who are always willing to help make other people comfortable, and we are not an all white, Christian school. The majority is caucasian, but we are accepting, and the school teaches tolerance and expects all students to treat each other the same. You cannot help your demographics!! Students from all walks of life make it to Galway, and every kind of student is accepted. The teachers are fantastic, and although some are tough, there is always available help. Don't listen to other people who say their kids only went for a year, they haven't experienced what Galway is about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2011

I went there for a year and a half. The school was a living hell. If you don't go there from Kindergarten up people isolate you and you become a freak. The people are like something out of Wrong Way by Stephen King. I go to Burnt Hills HS now and am much happier.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2009

My daughter has attended Galway School since kindergarten. She has received a fantastic education. She is a straight A student, participates in the soccer program which I cannot rave enough about. She is also involved in school clubs including science club, outdoor adventure club, drama club, & footprint (the school paper). She has also participated in the PTSA sponsored dance & gymnastics program. Galway is a small school, which gives the staff more time to spend with students. I highly recommend the Glaway school and community!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

Wide range of teaching ability; some teachers are absolutely terrible (in terms of help, effectiveness, organization, etc.) and others are really good. Principle is okay. Kids here are quite ignorant of other beliefs and cultures, which breeds prejudice and discriminatory views. All white, Christian school, and is extremely intolerant of other views. Small school; building needs repairs and school is fairly poor. Definitely rated a 2.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2008

Small class sizes give all the students plenty of personal attention. Excellent administration! Very good sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

it is a fantistic school and the teachers are so good I couldent ask for a better school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

Galway High School means alot to me. I moved here in 8th grade from Mechanicville. In Mechanicville I was having a tough time with the teachers and other students. I didn't fit in at all in the student populace. I had the intelligence for the classes but no motivation to use it. That changed when I moved to Galway. I may have given up my football Career for this place, but in return they gave me teachers who understood us and motivated the students, friends who didn't mind me being different from them in the way I dress and the shows I watch. Those students who did mind those things never were a problem because they would still be polite and not bother us. Sure we have the normal teenage drama, the difference is the environment we are in, it doesn't allow it to get out of control. I recommend Galway.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2006

My kids are new to this school. I feel that they treat kids all different instead of the same. I really do not care for much of the staff. All of the staff at Galway do not do their part to make school a fun and safe place to be. The kids attending Galway school have no limits. They get away with a lot. I rate this school a 0....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

Excellent School District. I wouldn't have wanted to end my 'high school career' anywhere else. We recieved plenty of personal attention and the supervisory dept. is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

We moved to Galway to place our children in a small district similar to what they attended through grade 5. We have not been disappointed. The principal, Mr. Jenkins, has always been open and direct with us. In general, our children have had a very positive experience at GHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

Galway is a small school with small classes and good teachers. In a school like this one many children have an easy time getting to know everyone in all the grades from meetings through school programs or even meetings set up to show your child what to expect in the coming years of their education.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
72%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
82%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
89%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
85%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
95%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

49 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students39%
Female34%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population39%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English39%
Not migrant39%

Chemistry

All Students55%
Female41%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant55%

Earth Science

All Students84%
Female82%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities40%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%

English

All Students68%
Female71%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities28%
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%

Geometry

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%

Global History and Geography

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities13%
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%

Integrated Algebra

All Students76%
Female79%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities20%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%

Living Environment

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%

Physics

All Students64%
Female69%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant64%

U.S. History and Government

All Students83%
Female81%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 48%
Hispanic 2 2% 23%
Black 2 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 0%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 222%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 22%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MICHAEL HEALEY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5317 Sacandaga Rd
Galway, NY 12074
Phone: (518) 882-1221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Amsterdam High School
Amsterdam, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT