Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Garden City, NY
Students enrolled: 1,185
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garden City High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
I think the teachers do a great job at bringing life experiences into the classroom as opposed to just teaching the curriculum.

Garden City High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
I think that teachers understand that school isn't the only thing on high school student's plates so the homework wasn't overwhelming but there was enough to take personal responsibility for.


Garden City High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
Very competitive school that fosters determination in it's students at a young age. Students are constantly trying to get into the best colleges in the country and this is prevalent especially in the high school environment.

Garden City High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
For the most part yes i agree that the garden city high school develops respect in it's students but i do believe that a person's upbrining has more of an influence on this than the high school.

Garden City High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
Tight nit community that develops empathy in its students at a young age as well as the school systems that students are raised in.


Garden City High School 5

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
Very competitive and effective school for developing knowledge and preparing students for college and careers in the business world.

Garden City High School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
--I've posted this for Garden City Middle School, but I'm posting this again for GCHS because one of my children goes to this school and I think they both are great.-- This school is the best high school I've ever seen in my life. I moved from Los Angeles many years ago and have lived here ever since. I am now sending my children to this school. They love this school, and so do I. The teachers are very considerate, of great qualities of teaching, and have great teaching methods which are working well not only on my children but also on other kids at school. This school is not very much known for its diversity as other people mentioned below but it doesn't mean it doesn't hold a tolerant attitude towards diversity. Garden City Middle School and High School are great schools no matter who you are, so do not worry about sending your kids to this school even though you are not white or Catholic. No one here judges you by your look or what you believe in. It's ridiculous that some people actually think they do. ---Also, it is true that the students in GC are good at sports, but why has it come to you as a problem? They are also one of the best in academics, etc.

Garden City High School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a community member
I have friends who attended this high school and are very proud. Anything and everything they have to say about the high school are all positives. The school system prepares students for college through the required curriculum necessary to graduate high school. In addition, this school provided a high array of honors classes for the over achievers. Located in a picturesque part of Long Island, NY, this school system has been ranked by US News as one of the best high schools in the country.


Garden City High School 2

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
My children have yet to enter the HS but its reputation precedes it. I blame the administration and parents for allowing Athletics to run the show and stupidity for contining the cycle of materialism running rampant both in this town and many others across the country. I can only hope that the tides will change by the time my kids are ready for HS....otherwise I'll move.

Garden City High School 2

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
Garden City is not known for its diversity: ethnic, religious, or socio-economic. It is probably the only town on Long Island where a child can be bullied for not being Catholic. Or having dark hair on her arms. This, in and of itself, might not be a move-or-don't-move-here issue if the school's curriculum were richer and the teaching more consistent at every level, especially in grades 2-12. (The K-1 primary schools are quite good.) One cannot talk about the schools without also talking about the Village: a place where sports ALWAYS trump academics. Because of this, the schools--and the community--ultimately suffer. This is a good fit for families with athletically gifted, Catholic, caucasian children. Still, there's a caveat: If, like some of us, you fit that GC mold, does that mean it's a good choice? This town produces exceptional athletes--not well-rounded, intellectual, curious, engaged children. And at the end of the day, isn't that what matters?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garden City High School
170 Rockaway Avenue, Garden City, NY  11530
(516) 478-2000
Last modified Garden City High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garden City High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top