Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garden City High School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
Can not say enough about the quality of the teachers and coaches at GCHS. I remain close with many of my high school football and lacrosse coaches today nearly 10 years after my graduation. A fantastic institution.

Garden City High School 4

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Education is solid and well rounded. Students are motivated to succeed in a competitive environment. Most teachers were good, a few were inspiring. The focus on sports is a little much but is not unique to this school.


Garden City High School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
My second child is currently in Garden City High School and is also getting a very solid education. My son is currently on a scholarship at Northeastern University, which I attribute to the opportunities he gained in school (not just academics but also student government, sports, and music).

Garden City High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
I think the teachers do a great job at bringing life experiences into the classroom as opposed to just teaching the curriculum.

Garden City High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
I think that teachers understand that school isn't the only thing on high school student's plates so the homework wasn't overwhelming but there was enough to take personal responsibility for.


Garden City High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
Very competitive school that fosters determination in it's students at a young age. Students are constantly trying to get into the best colleges in the country and this is prevalent especially in the high school environment.

Garden City High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
For the most part yes i agree that the garden city high school develops respect in it's students but i do believe that a person's upbrining has more of an influence on this than the high school.

Garden City High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
Tight nit community that develops empathy in its students at a young age as well as the school systems that students are raised in.


Garden City High School 5

Posted June 22, 2015
- a community member
Very competitive and effective school for developing knowledge and preparing students for college and careers in the business world.

Garden City High School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
--I've posted this for Garden City Middle School, but I'm posting this again for GCHS because one of my children goes to this school and I think they both are great.-- This school is the best high school I've ever seen in my life. I moved from Los Angeles many years ago and have lived here ever since. I am now sending my children to this school. They love this school, and so do I. The teachers are very considerate, of great qualities of teaching, and have great teaching methods which are working well not only on my children but also on other kids at school. This school is not very much known for its diversity as other people mentioned below but it doesn't mean it doesn't hold a tolerant attitude towards diversity. Garden City Middle School and High School are great schools no matter who you are, so do not worry about sending your kids to this school even though you are not white or Catholic. No one here judges you by your look or what you believe in. It's ridiculous that some people actually think they do. ---Also, it is true that the students in GC are good at sports, but why has it come to you as a problem? They are also one of the best in academics, etc.

Nearby schools

Garden City High School
170 Rockaway Avenue, Garden City, NY  11530
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (516) 478-2000
Last modified Garden City High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top