Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stewart School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Teacher and stuff are very heplful and knowledgeable.Class teacher should interact more with children according to their need and improvement.

Stewart School 3

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
Garden City is not known for its diversity: ethnic, religious, or socio-economic. It is probably the only town on Long Island where a child can be bullied for not being Catholic. Or having dark hair on her arms. This in and of itself might not be a move-or-don't-move-here issue if the curriculum were richer and the teaching more consistent at every level, especially in grades 2-12. (The K-1 primary schools are quite good.) One cannot talk about the schools without also talking about the Village: a place where sports ALWAYS trump academics. Because of this, the schools--and the community--ultimately suffer. This is a good fit for families with athletically gifted, Catholic, caucasian children. But there's a caveat: If, like some of us, you still fit that GC mold, does that mean it's the right choice? This town produces exceptional athletes--not well-rounded, intellectual, curious, engaged children. And at the end of the day, isn't that what matters?


Stewart School 4

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
I find the majority of the teachers to be perceptive, caring and willing to work with the parents. The Principal is very hands on, seems to know all of the students by name and personality. At a chance meeting one day, she was able to recite exactly how my child was performing and the grades I could expect. As far as special needs, I have seen more understanding in this school than many other neighboring districts. Bottom line, stay involved. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because i would like to see more advanced classes in Science.

Stewart School 4

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
Have two children so far that have gone through several grades in this school. Generally the teachers have been very good, a few excellent and one or two very poor. The poor ones were really bad and I had to speak to the principal numerous times as did other parents, after speaking to the teacher go us nowhere. The principal is/was very good, though not sure much was done based on the complaints.

Stewart School 5

Posted July 02, 2008
- a parent
My son finished his last year there and he was sad when he had to leave all the teachers are nice and i would give the school a thumbs up


Stewart School 3

Posted June 18, 2007
- a parent
I agree with the earlier review, the principal and staff are certainly on their own agenda. If you have a child with special needs, beware. Maybe the school should consider adding new people that understand special ed kids needs more and/or get rid of staff that won't bend. Special ed applies to lots of students nowadays and those parents and students shouldn't be penalized.

Stewart School 5

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
My child in now in the 4th grade at Stewart School and I have nothing but good things to say about this school. She is motivated, happy and has had extraordinary teachers who really care. I find it very hard to believe that 99 percent of the children who attend Stewart aren't getting a GREAT education.

Stewart School 1

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
The Principal and the support staff at Stewart School are horrible. They have a destructive and discriminatory staff and they don't care about your child or your family. Only a few teachers in this school possess the ability to educate your child academically as well as morally. Chances are that your child will probably never come in contact with these teachers while in the school, since as I said there are only a few of them. I strongly do not recommend this establishment, as a matter of fact BEWARE OF IT. They follow rules like robots, without the use of common sense. If you have a child with special needs they will only care to sign the child up for services but when talking to the child they will forget those specials needs and proceed to confuse and traumatize her/him.


Stewart School 3

Posted May 26, 2005
- a parent
I feel my daughter is getting a good education due to her wonderful teachers. There is a definate lack of communication between the staff when the children need support. I can see how a child can 'fall through the cracks'

Nearby schools

Stewart School
501 Stewart Avenue, Garden City, NY  11530
(516) 478-1400
Last modified Stewart School is a Public school that serves grades 2-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top