Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

C J Hooker Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 678 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2012

School let my child down. Did not address anxiety needs or recommend much needed services that I later discovered in 9th grade. One teacher picked on my child, while some others ignored her existence. One teacher exclaimed to misbehaving kid, "If you don't stop I'll put you next to (my child's name)." Another said my child was 'weird' because my child could recite an entire movie verbatim. If my child raised hand to answer question this teacher would say, "Anyone else?" The teacher sets the tone within the classroom, and this set my child up for isolation. It is an unfortunate school for those whose needs are not met. Don't make my mistake. In my ignorance, I was unaware of Student Personnel Services. Get your child help and do not let them suffer. God bless :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

the kids are way to jude mental so how cares if i love justice the store dont just judge me or anyone


Posted August 19, 2010

I loved every minute I had at this school. I think it's a shame my parents and I are moving out of state. The teachers and principal are very thoughtful and nice. I was always academically challenged. I really wish I could start my 7th grade year here, as well as my 8th. I really will miss this school!


Posted April 24, 2010

I am in the 8th grade and all of my 3 years I have loved it all! There are extra help classes, for those who need it, and caring teachers who want each student to do great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 19, 2009

Teachers and faculty are caring and go out above and beyond to help when students need it. After school help has always been available, and now the new 'homework club' seems to give support to the kids who really need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

this school is alright I guess. everyone is really nice there and take their time for extra help if it is needed. the only problem I see with this school is that there is not enough advanced classes. I think students with an average above a 90 throughout the whole year should have a choice of an advanced class and be challenged.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2008

When we moved here I was worried about my daughter's transition to middle school. She has really come to love school and is making a smooth adjustment. Her teachers seem sincere and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

this school has great teachers and a good foundation for kids.Ithere and im in the 6 grade im on the blue team and i love it there.i would rather go to school than stay at home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2005

I would like to see more art programs. The children are being over worked with little creativity.There is not enough after school help available for children whom they claim are 'below the level' although if ny state didn't put so much pressure on having such high averages, each child could work @ there own level. I have done everything but go to school with my son and he is still strugling even with the extra help classes the school put him in. If he fails...the school system has failed him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

248 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

228 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 77% 48%
Hispanic 2 15% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 4% 9%
Black 1 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 116%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 38%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. WILLIAM ROLON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41 Lincoln Ave
Goshen, NY 10924
Phone: (845) 615-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St John School
Goshen, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT