Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Goshen, NY
Students enrolled: 678
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


C J Hooker Middle School 1

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
School let my child down. Did not address anxiety needs or recommend much needed services that I later discovered in 9th grade. One teacher picked on my child, while some others ignored her existence. One teacher exclaimed to misbehaving kid, "If you don't stop I'll put you next to (my child's name)." Another said my child was 'weird' because my child could recite an entire movie verbatim. If my child raised hand to answer question this teacher would say, "Anyone else?" The teacher sets the tone within the classroom, and this set my child up for isolation. It is an unfortunate school for those whose needs are not met. Don't make my mistake. In my ignorance, I was unaware of Student Personnel Services. Get your child help and do not let them suffer. God bless :)

C J Hooker Middle School 3

Posted May 25, 2011
- a community member
the kids are way to jude mental so how cares if i love justice the store dont just judge me or anyone


C J Hooker Middle School 5

Posted August 19, 2010
- a community member
I loved every minute I had at this school. I think it's a shame my parents and I are moving out of state. The teachers and principal are very thoughtful and nice. I was always academically challenged. I really wish I could start my 7th grade year here, as well as my 8th. I really will miss this school!

C J Hooker Middle School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a student
I am in the 8th grade and all of my 3 years I have loved it all! There are extra help classes, for those who need it, and caring teachers who want each student to do great!

C J Hooker Middle School 5

Posted July 19, 2009
- a parent
Teachers and faculty are caring and go out above and beyond to help when students need it. After school help has always been available, and now the new 'homework club' seems to give support to the kids who really need it.


C J Hooker Middle School 4

Posted March 08, 2009
- a student
this school is alright I guess. everyone is really nice there and take their time for extra help if it is needed. the only problem I see with this school is that there is not enough advanced classes. I think students with an average above a 90 throughout the whole year should have a choice of an advanced class and be challenged.

C J Hooker Middle School 5

Posted May 20, 2008
- a parent
When we moved here I was worried about my daughter's transition to middle school. She has really come to love school and is making a smooth adjustment. Her teachers seem sincere and caring.

C J Hooker Middle School 5

Posted June 05, 2007
- a student
this school has great teachers and a good foundation for kids.Ithere and im in the 6 grade im on the blue team and i love it there.i would rather go to school than stay at home.


C J Hooker Middle School 4

Posted October 03, 2005
- a staff
This review submitted without content.

C J Hooker Middle School 3

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
I would like to see more art programs. The children are being over worked with little creativity.There is not enough after school help available for children whom they claim are 'below the level' although if ny state didn't put so much pressure on having such high averages, each child could work @ there own level. I have done everything but go to school with my son and he is still strugling even with the extra help classes the school put him in. If he fails...the school system has failed him.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

C J Hooker Middle School
41 Lincoln Avenue, Goshen, NY  10924
(845) 615-6300
Last modified C J Hooker Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
C J Hooker Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top