Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gouverneur Junior Senior High School

Public | 6-12 & ungraded | 889 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2014

Military family and my son got stuck at this school for a year. They are arrogant! I drove my son to school, he was only 12yrs so obviously no drivers license and no control over when he arrived at school yet they insisted on giving him detention for being a min late. How do you punish a child for being late when they have no control over it. We moved, informed the school and two weeks after the beginning of the school year we receive a call (mind you we are in a different state by now) from a teacher informing us our son had not turned in his homework! REALLY! How stupid are these people! They where still claiming our son being their school. Then they gave our son's new school a hard time when they requested his school records.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

The GHS music department is one of the most (if not the most) understaffed music departments in the zone. However, the teachers are so brilliant and competent that the ensembles are all at least above average- and probably deserve to be labelled excellent.. There are extracurriculars such as Select Strings, Chamber Singers, Marching Band, Jazz Band, and others. This school is Miracle-Gro for musical abilities.


Posted April 17, 2009

Gouverneur may just be one of the best schools in the North Country. The schools serve a purpose in the community for not just the students but for the parents of the students as well. A good education is a goal a parent, teacher, and [sometimes] even the student will have the greatest intention on fulfilling. Not only do our students have a chance to be better educated in primary courses, but they have the opportunity to be able to play sports in all seasons and join clubs of different varieties. The music dept. has actually been my personal favorite for a choice in classes, as well as physical education, which gives each student the chance they deserve to lead the group. The educators in Gouverneur Middle/High School have proven to be a great help in not just the school itself, but the community in which it is withheld.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

The following is a prime example of why this perhaps isn't such a good school! It was (supposedly) posted by a student. I especially like the part of getting '...above a 90 on all my regentses.'! Posted May 16, 2008 I seem to disagree with most of you. Im a senior at Gouverneur High School and I actually believe that it is a very good school. I moved to Gouverneur in the mid of my 10th grade year and I the staff and students were actually very accepting. I belive I have been taught well also... My grades are good I do good on all tests and quizzes and I have received above a 90 on all of my regentses. Maybe it is just your children leading you to believe what you have written to excuse for their own laziness that lead to how bad they were doing at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Gouverneur Central School is a fine academics school. The only thing that I feel is weong with it is that Athletics are not as important as they should be. Minimal fans attend schools games, and when they do...they aren't very enthusiastic. I feel that if Gouverneur focused more on our athletic program we could easily be the number one section X team for many years to come.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2008

i graduated from Gouverneur High School and many things have changed, for instance I feel we do not let our children still be children. We have to many rules that have nothing to do with their education. keeping control is one thing but being too controlling only leads to many other problems. There are other areas that we should address, like the same old problem of some students thinking they are better because of maybe more money or their social status. Bullying others is where we need to crack down and make our children understand that everyone is equal and not just a rug for others to step on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

I had two children attending the Gouveneur school district for 10 years before returning to Illinois. Both my children were above the population of the schools they attended in Illinois. My oldest child had learning difficulties but with the help of the teachers she was able to finish high school in good standing and my other child was able to follow her talents developed in Gouveneur. After all these years I can say thank you Marlene Morris


Posted May 16, 2008

I seem to disagree with most of you. Im a senior at Gouverneur High School and I actually believe that it is a very good school. I moved to Gouverneur in the mid of my 10th grade year and I the staff and students were actually very accepting. I belive I have been taught well also... My grades are good I do good on all tests and quizzes and I have received above a 90 on all of my regentses. Maybe it is just your children leading you to believe what you have written to excuse for their own laziness that lead to how bad they were doing at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I would tend to agree that the teachers don't seem to care as much here as they do elsewhere. The problem is that they have to teach more about what is on the 'Regents Exams' than what is in the books. I get upset when my high school student is given a brand new book and then told to store away for the year because they are not using them. The counselors are not helping the students either. I too am military and before GHS, I thought DODDS overseas was bad but they actually were very much ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

While I am not in the military, I am still happy to call NNY my home. We can raise our children with out worry of gang violence, crime, etc. GHS is a fine school that has graduated many students that have gone on to flourish intellectually, athletically and musically.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 4, 2007

The Gouverneur High School seems to be a very poorly administered school that cares not what a parent thinks, and most surely doesn't look out for the student's best educational needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

45 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students44%
Female44%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English44%
Non-migrant44%

Chemistry

All Students81%
Female81%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%

Earth Science

All Students73%
Female67%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities39%
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%

English

All Students84%
Female88%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities56%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%

Geometry

All Students85%
Female80%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%

Global History and Geography

All Students66%
Female63%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities38%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

Integrated Algebra

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities66%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Living Environment

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities71%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Physics

All Students64%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Non-migrant64%

U.S. History and Government

All Students91%
Female85%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities86%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 96% 48%
Hispanic 2 2% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 244%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 12%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

113 E Barney St
Gouverneur, NY 13642
Phone: (315) 287-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hermon Dekalb Central School
Dekalb Junction, NY


Rocky Ledge School
De Peyster, NY


Elm Grove School
De Peyster, NY


Townline School
Heuvelton, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT