Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Grand Island, NY
Students enrolled: 1,045

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Grand Island Senior High School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a teacher
I substitute taught at GIHS this year and it quickly became my favorite building to work in. The academics here are very strong and there is wonderful community support, which shows in the students. There's a few knuckleheads like there are at every school, but many of the students I met were very friendly, motivated, and well-behaved. The faculty and staff are very caring and work very hard to help students reach their goals. The principal is probably the best I've seen, very visible and consistent with rules, and runs a tight ship. Too bad he's retiring. I loved GIHS, and wouldn't hesitate to return if the opportunity presented itself.

Grand Island Senior High School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a community member
I am an alumni who thought GIHS really prepared me for college. I took part in AP classes, music and sports and thought it was an excellent school. It has a special togetherness that many schools do not have.

Grand Island Senior High School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a community member
This school has great athletics, music program and art education. It also has some really great teachers.

Grand Island Senior High School
no rating

Posted December 22, 2008
- a parent
Gangs? Cliques perhaps....there are no weapons and very few physical fights. I'm a mother with three having gone through the HS. They went to college and had necessary support to do so. Facilities and resources for academics are good. music excellent, other extracurriculars very good, sports very good, teachers are good and caring though most not terribly involved. Academics could improve but are still pretty good.

Grand Island Senior High School 2

Posted May 23, 2007
- a student
Although this school thrives in their extrac. activities such as sports and music, it fails miserably in academics. Most of the teachers currently hired are horribly inexperienced and simply do not care for the advancement of their students. The new principle is also hated by most students due to her strict policies (no flip flops, two hour detentions). Seniors are also not given enough privileges and their last year at this school can be uneventful and boring. A couple years back, they had a 7 million dollar budget on renovations in which they had spent close to 35 percent on music, 35 percent on sports, 30 percent on staff and faculty, and close to 0 percent on academics. Absolutely ridiculous if you ask me. Overall, I would rate this school as an OK-average school, and by no means a great one.

Grand Island Senior High School 5

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
This school distict cares about its students. This is why people move to the suburbs. Excellent teachers and a deal for the taxes they charge.

Grand Island Senior High School 4

Posted April 16, 2006
- a parent
Grand Island Senior High is a fine school with excellent learning opportunities. GIHS offers substantial Advanced Placement courses, and has among the finest music/arts programs in the region with more than 40 instrumental and choral groups across the district from HS to MS and elementary. GI offers tremendous sports programs and has won Sectionals in Football, Soccer, and Girl's Basketball in the last two years. The teaching community is highly committed, and has approximately 90% with post graduate degrees.

Grand Island Senior High School 1

Posted September 25, 2005
- a teacher
Security is a serious problem for this school. They need more monitors. There is a serious gang issue going on that the administration refuses to acknowledge. GIHS is in serious trouble with leadership that puts security its first priority.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grand Island Senior High School
1100 Ransom Road, Grand Island, NY  14072
(716) 773-8820
Last modified Grand Island Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grand Island Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top