Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Great Neck, NY
Students enrolled: 488

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John F Kennedy School 5

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
JFK school is a wonderful school with a caring and progressive educational program. The teachers all work together to provide the best guidance and education for each child depending on their individual needs. We are very proud to be a part of the JFK Elementary community. This school is very diverse with children from many different ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds.

John F Kennedy School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Jfk school is a caring and educationally enriched environment for children to learn. The teachers are excellent and the administration is amazing. The parents at JFK care about the school . Overall, my kids and I are VERY happy to be a part of JFK.


John F Kennedy School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
I have two kids that are in JFK and one daughter that has finished it. The school the teachers are top notch. Amazing public school in Kings Point area. Why would you pay money for private school when you have a school like this.

John F Kennedy School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
I grew up in Great Neck and John F Kennedy was always a top caliber school and it still is. The teachers and staff at this school are truly amazing. The teachers have exceeded my expectations. They go beyond what is expected of them and I appreciate their commitment to their students total well being... academically and socially. I feel there is a great connection between the teachers and parents.

John F Kennedy School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
My second child will be in her final year of JFK this year. I also have a rising 9th grader, who also went to JFK. IT'S A WONDERFUL SCHOOL. My children have thrived and continue to be in honors classes. The staff is top notch! Anyone who has the privilege to attend our school is lucky.


John F Kennedy School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. Beginning with the principal and extending to the wonderful staff, each child's individual needs are attended to. The focus is on balancing education with a supportive environment that permits the children to grow and learn. It is a fabulous school and I am THRILLED my children have had this experience.

John F Kennedy School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John F Kennedy School 3

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
The principal runs a tight ship at this school - teachers are not free to loaf off, but at the same time they're not free to innovate either. JFK also takes an unhealthy interest in teaching toward standardized tests; starting in 3rd grade, children are strongly encouraged to come in for extra test prep - a completely unwarrented intrusion into the kids' time, for the sake of butressing the school's test scores. Socially, the largely wealthy Iranian parent population tries to keep their kids apart from the other kids at the school. If you're not part of the wealthy, Iranian crowd, your kid is unlikely to ever get a playdate. On the positive side,the school is well-run, most of the teachers are excellent, and the kids are mostly well-behaved. Summary - Strong on academics, weak on humanity.


John F Kennedy School 5

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John F Kennedy School 1

Posted November 09, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John F Kennedy School
1 Grassfield Road, Great Neck, NY  11024
(516) 441-4200
Last modified John F Kennedy School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John F Kennedy School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top