Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Village School 5

Posted March 22, 2016
- a student
This school has turned my life around. I used to worry every day about going to my previous high school, but with Village School that doesn't happen anymore. The school's environment made it easier to enjoy learning. The classes are unique and amazing. The teachers come up with the best ideas for topics based on the class. This school has provided me the best opportunity to succeed. This school will have always place in my heart for the help and support it gave me. I will highly recommend this school to anyone.

Village School 5

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
My kid is currently completing their first year at VS. Its amazing how one year can turn an attitude around. The small community helps with the social anxiety. These students are less judgmental and more accepting then the children at the larger schools. When a problem arises between students, the teachers are quick to handle it. Each teacher learns each student by name and characteristics. Its a Blessing.


Village School 1

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
There is no emphasis on math and reading in this school which would help students excel in their academic studies. It's all about hands on learning and "thinking outside the box" and not much about academics.

Village School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a student
I graduated Village school in 2010, and I can only attribute success to their program. Before I got there, I wasn't going to graduate on time - and thanks to the staff and the creative learning environment, I graduated on time and am now attending Marymount Manhattan College.

Village School 5

Posted May 17, 2011
- a student
Hi yeah. Village School is a school for creative kids, so dont assume.Thank you very much.


Village School 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a student
For anyone who thinks that Village School attributed to their failures obviously didn't learn one of the many lessons I learned at village school, that you are responsible for your own actions, failures, and successes. There are former students from Village School at GREAT schools. The teachers are wonderful people who try literally their hardest to help every single student as much as they can. There are always the kids with bad attitudes who just don't want to be at any school.

Village School 1

Posted March 24, 2009
- a community member
I am a former student of Great Neck Village School. Presently I am a student at Nassau Community College, I attribute my failure to the education and experiences that I had at VS. The Village School is a horrible place where students are discouraged to learn. The faculty and staff are outrageous. I would never recommend this school to anyone especially those with special needs.

Village School 1

Posted March 21, 2009
- a community member
I honestly don't understand why kids want to go to Village School. Village School doesn't allow these kids to interact with mainstream kids at all. It doesn't let kids learn to live together! No wonder our school system is broken! Seriously, this school needs to go.


Village School 5

Posted August 08, 2008
- a student
I am a student at Village and it has been a lifesaver in terms of not only offering an academic oasis, but making my learning experience memorable. This school is top-notch and I am incredibly indebted to it and its faculty.

Village School
no rating

Posted February 03, 2008
- a student
This school changed my life. It is the most phenomenal place I have ever been, and after the other schools I tried, it is the proverbial breath of fresh air. I could not have asked for a more welcoming, friendlier, more suited to my needs school than this one, right here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Village School
614 Middle Neck Road, Great Neck, NY  11023
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (516) 441-4900
Last modified Village School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top