Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harborfields High School

Public | 9-12 | 1142 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2013

Where is the 2013 fiasco ratings, what's the truth about algebra/Trig test?? So many failed this test and parents spent money trying to help up the scores but the district failed us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

Love this school,teachers and principal!! Both of my daughters have had amazing relationships with their teachers. I fully believe they have had a wonderful, well-balanced education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

I personally feel that back in 1983 the school was alot better the teachers were alot more interested in the studens than they are today the principal was alot stricter back then also The staff back then cared more for the studens


Posted May 22, 2007

When you think about, one third of my child's life to date has been spent at a Harborfields school and I could not think of a better place. Excellent student/teacher ratio although austerity in 2005 set us back a little. Faculty did an excellent job in managing through some tough times. Very committed teachers and a strong, visible and genuinely interested principle who is constantly improving school environment. This is an excellent school district and exceeds expectations most of the time. Harborfields offers every student an opportunity to succeed if they dare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

We love the Principal and the new assistant principal.The assistant principal in particular has been enormously available and helpful. The math department is not good in the 9th grade,although I see them trying very hard . I wish that the school would take more interest in the individual child, ( and I know this is a public school problem) than in the grades.I have seen children thrive when learning becomes about inspiration, rather than learning for the sake of passing so they can show the district that they are the top high school.How children learn cannot be about politics. It has to be about curiosity, evolving as human beings, and of course doing the best they can do in whatever classes they are in. But this will not be accomplished when teachers are in a hurry, need to show high scores,or a unhappy in their field. Let's re evaluate our system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

Harborfields is average. My daughter will be graduating from Harborfields, but I will be sending my son to a private school for his freshman year. The athletic program is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

My daughter is now the Senior!. She has had her ups & downs. She wasn't one to speak up & hardly complained, but her actions should have been recognized. She was always willing & helped a great deal in organizing for charity. When she did something extraordinary, the school failed in helping her feel great about it. Good thing for a strong loving family. The guidance counselor should have taken more time to get to know who she was, then maybe she could have done more in the school. She wanted to be a natural helper, she had her heart set on it. Administrative dept. needs to set priorities straight. Principal was punctual at returning calls. Teachers were 100% she loved most of them. Overall she had a great 3 years, thank you !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

This school has a great reputation, but it really didn't do much for me. I was able to get by doing their bare minimum. I took all the 'cliche APs' that all the smart kids take, and got into a top school. Bottom line: the smart cruise by because they are assumed to be untouchable, not because of any real work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 28, 2006

Harborfields is a very small, structured environment, the principle has always been more than accomodating, even sending out birthday notes to all students. The budget however, is always shot down by the retirees in the community, greenlawn and centerport are dominated by people over 60 years old. Overall, a great environment, with friendly, intelligent people, however it is a rich community that does not wish to give to its schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2006

Generally, there have been many chances to take upper level courses (although not quite aa many as the larger schools). The student to teacher ratio is also good. I've found that the teachers at the school are fair. The music programs in the school are also great. There are a large number of students who recieve honors for their abilities in this area. The sports are competitive, but the school lacks in some areas. For example, they have a varsity swim team but no pool on campus so they rent two lanes (30 girls per team). The clubs are phenomenal, wide selection with lots of student envolvement. A warning though, for the past few years the budget has been voted down consistantly the first (and often second) time. This has led to the cutting of many activites (like science research) at the whim of the community.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2006

This school has consistently done well as far as standardized test scores go, but unfortunately a population boom in the area and the rejection of the proposed budget for the 05-06 school year has caused some problems. Basically all extracurricular activities, as well as junior-varsity sports and advanced art & music classes were cancelled. An anonymous donation allowed the school to re-start a few of their extracurriculars, but unless the district's residents vote in favor of the 06-07 budget, the school is in for a decline.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2005

Harborfields is great for the really smart kids and kids needing lots of help. Middle of road and lower middle get swept under the rug. We have one of each, so no real axe to grind. Since school district includes some very wealthy and lower to lower middle class areas, a very diverse group. Overall a quality school with mostly good faculty and a good, albeit a rather young, principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

It isnt that great..I suggest sending your student to a private high school with better academics
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2005

Wonderful atmosphere in the school which encourages learning, leadership, and respect. The principal expects the young ladies and gentlemen in his school to do well and they rise to that expectation. There is emphasis placed on community involvement through volunteerism and fund raising. By graduation, most students are well prepared young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2004

I graduated from Harborfields last year and I had a wonderful experience, I would go back if I could. The teachers are amazing; they actually care about their students and are always available for extra help. I could not speak highly enough about the administration, they always have smiles on their faces and really made sure we were getting the best education possible. I give Harborfields my highest recommendation and when I have children they will be attending Harborfields.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2004

An great school high scores my daughter is doing well and likes it shes in choir. i recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2004

This is a Fantastic school and the new principal Mr.Bennardo is amazing and works extremely well with all of the students. The overall school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2003

Students have no rights at Harborfields. Problems are not dealt with properly or efficiently, principals and administrators are unreachable and unwilling to aid students. Guidance department is useless for both choosing classes and helping in the college selection and admission process. All faculty and staff treat students as criminals despite students' hard work and good intentions. A terrible experience overall for two of my three children and all of their friends. I will be sending my third to private school or another district like Northport.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

227 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

302 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

26 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

288 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

290 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

200 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

300 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

157 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

303 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students94%
Students with disabilities60%
General population95%

Chemistry

All Students95%
Students with disabilities33%
General population97%

Earth Science

All Students93%
Students with disabilities76%
General population97%

English

All Students97%
Students with disabilities76%
General population98%

Geometry

All Students96%
Students with disabilities78%
General population99%

Global History and Geography

All Students94%
Students with disabilities73%
General population98%

Integrated Algebra

All Students98%
Students with disabilities92%
General population99%

Living Environment

All Students98%
Students with disabilities90%
General population99%

Physics

All Students86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students96%
Students with disabilities70%
General population98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 48%
Black 6% 19%
Hispanic 4% 23%
Asian 3% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

98 Taylor Ave
Greenlawn, NY 11740
Phone: (631) 754-5360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Huntington High School
Huntington, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT