Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oldfield Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 914 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2013

haborfields has provides ASL interpeters which is very positive thing that they meets our needs for our son to go the school.. Both boys loves Haborfields more than anything else... We are proudest deaf parent of these two wonderful boys
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

OMS is an outstanding school. The quality of instruction is top notch and the teachers and administration are dedicated, engaged and caring. All three of our children were very happy with their experience at OMS. Like all schools, some teachers were not as good as others but on an overall basis we were extremely pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

I had 2 children who went through this school. My first is very bright, and she did fine, although we had some problems, for example with math where 2 of her teachers were very poor. My younger child is special needs and Oldfield middle school did not meet his needs at all. It was worse than that, though: the special education administration is incompetent, and instead of hiring experts to educate their staff (there is virtually no staff training) trying to educate my child they were very nasty to my son and to us when we tried to get necessary services for him. i would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

It's such a fun school with spirit weeks, fundraisers like this previous OMS Idol, but also has very good teachers and education. Kids there have a blast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

This is an excellent school! My son loves it and the administration and teachers are great. Great school district. This school is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I believe some of the teachers are absolutely outstanding and is reflected in my son's attitude and academic performance. Then there are teachers that have slipped below average regarding attitude and performance and could learn from those who make this academic environment great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

As an OMS student, I am proud to say that I love this school. It has great advanced oppurtunities for me including S.A.I.L (gifted program) and advanced math/science. There are lots of great sports to do and clubs to join. Even the school's mascot is great (tornado). I am in the 6th grade band, photo club, and sports here at OMS. I think that it is great that the teachers here are so flexible with extracurricular activities. After the recent passing of Lenny Lamb (7th grade student at OMS)The principal went around to every single classroom and told the students. It was comforting to know that the administration was there for us during such a hard time. The staff at this school does other neat little things, such as OMS idol (like american Idol)where you can see your teachers sing & dance. These 'extras' are part of what makes OMS awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2005

The district hires the youngest teachers on LI. Many of them are gems, but not all. The 7th grade honors program is unenlightened: Son who made an 85 in honors was told he had to repeat the math course in 8th grade. Completely unresponsive administration on this nutty issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

This school drags it's feet with the students that need academic help. OMS will jump through hoops for it's stronger students but the ones that need help are waiting until the last possible moment of pass or fail before anyone will help. As a parent I have been to the school asking for help for my daughter for 2 years and only in the last 4 weeks of the last quater have they offered any help at all. Too little too late. OMS gets a failing grade in my book I'm sorry to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

293 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 87% 48%
Hispanic 1 5% 23%
Black 1 4% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Oldfield Rd
Greenlawn, NY 11740
Phone: (631) 754-5310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Huntington High School
Huntington, NY


St Patrick's School
Huntington, NY



Trinity Regional School
East Northport, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT