Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hamburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $151,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2013

I would give the school 4-5 stars but there are 2 areas that seriously lacking. Phy. Ed and Spanish because the teachers are in serious need of an overhaul. There is also a lack of leadership and consistency. It is a small school so a core group of vocal parents tend to control most outcomes when it comes to sports and extra-curricular activities. The micro-managing of the kids' behavior is also an issue because some parents are apt to call and complain if their child is looked at the wrong way. 3 years ago the school was good but has slowly deteriorated. We are moving our child to the public school system because we are so frustrated with the playing of favorites in every aspect of this school. With 2 years of middle school, we don't think we would survive it. The grading is completely arbitrary and there have been numerous complaints about the grading methods of certain teachers yet nothing has been done to remedy the situation. The principal says the right things but ultimately, unless you're in the inner circle, there is no satisfactory resolution to genuine concerns and complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

This is not a good choice - the leadership and some of the staff are anything but caring and christian. I had two children attend - they had some good years, and other years were horrible. Some of the teachers are not certified, that is why they stay there forever - they can't get hired anywhere else!!! I found better trained and many more caring teachers & staff in the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

This is an excellent school!! It is a very warm and caring environment. I have 2 children who have graduated from this school and they were very prepared for high school. Academic achievement is stressed which is important although at times not sure it is accepted that not all children are capable of honor roll grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I can not say enough good things about this school. My son has gained knowledge he would not have gotten elsewhere. The teachers do so much more than just teach. They truly care for their students. Parent involvement is a priority. This school definitely prepares your children for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

This is an excellent school. There is a very dedicated faculty with little turn-over. The academic curriculum is challenging and the teachers work hard to help all children meet these standards. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The Parents Guild is very active and works hard to provide all kinds of extras for the kids. The Pastor and other priests are very supportive of the school. The extra-curricular sports program is outstanding -- basketball, baseball, cross-country, track, soccer, hockey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I had two children graduate from this school. They loved it and so did I. I can't say enough about how the school prepared them for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

This school is a nice school. There are issues, as there are with any school. The leadership at the school is lacking. The teachers are satisfactory. The school's primary problem is that since it is a catholic school and attached to a parish, the best people making decision for the school are not always the people who know best (principal/teachers) so it can be a little crazy. Parent group is super and if you attend/volunteer the parents end up making friendships too. Areas lacking are Phys. Ed. and Language Class. Both are offered but the quality of both classes are poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 52%
Black 1% 21%
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patrick Riester
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

68 E Main St
Hamburg, NY 14075
Phone: (716) 649-7030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Bernadette School
Orchard Park, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT