Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Hamburg, NY
Students enrolled: 229
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 3

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
I would give the school 4-5 stars but there are 2 areas that seriously lacking. Phy. Ed and Spanish because the teachers are in serious need of an overhaul. There is also a lack of leadership and consistency. It is a small school so a core group of vocal parents tend to control most outcomes when it comes to sports and extra-curricular activities. The micro-managing of the kids' behavior is also an issue because some parents are apt to call and complain if their child is looked at the wrong way. 3 years ago the school was good but has slowly deteriorated. We are moving our child to the public school system because we are so frustrated with the playing of favorites in every aspect of this school. With 2 years of middle school, we don't think we would survive it. The grading is completely arbitrary and there have been numerous complaints about the grading methods of certain teachers yet nothing has been done to remedy the situation. The principal says the right things but ultimately, unless you're in the inner circle, there is no satisfactory resolution to genuine concerns and complaints.

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 2

Posted April 14, 2011
- a parent
This is not a good choice - the leadership and some of the staff are anything but caring and christian. I had two children attend - they had some good years, and other years were horrible. Some of the teachers are not certified, that is why they stay there forever - they can't get hired anywhere else!!! I found better trained and many more caring teachers & staff in the public school system.


Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2010
- a parent
This is an excellent school!! It is a very warm and caring environment. I have 2 children who have graduated from this school and they were very prepared for high school. Academic achievement is stressed which is important although at times not sure it is accepted that not all children are capable of honor roll grades.

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
I can not say enough good things about this school. My son has gained knowledge he would not have gotten elsewhere. The teachers do so much more than just teach. They truly care for their students. Parent involvement is a priority. This school definitely prepares your children for the future.

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 1

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
This is an excellent school. There is a very dedicated faculty with little turn-over. The academic curriculum is challenging and the teachers work hard to help all children meet these standards. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The Parents Guild is very active and works hard to provide all kinds of extras for the kids. The Pastor and other priests are very supportive of the school. The extra-curricular sports program is outstanding -- basketball, baseball, cross-country, track, soccer, hockey.

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
I had two children graduate from this school. They loved it and so did I. I can't say enough about how the school prepared them for High School.


Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 3

Posted June 11, 2007
- a parent
This school is a nice school. There are issues, as there are with any school. The leadership at the school is lacking. The teachers are satisfactory. The school's primary problem is that since it is a catholic school and attached to a parish, the best people making decision for the school are not always the people who know best (principal/teachers) so it can be a little crazy. Parent group is super and if you attend/volunteer the parents end up making friendships too. Areas lacking are Phys. Ed. and Language Class. Both are offered but the quality of both classes are poor.

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School 3

Posted September 02, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School
68 E Main St, Hamburg, NY  14075
(716) 649-7030
Last modified Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sts. Peter & Paul Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top