Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hampton Bays High School

Public | 9-12 | 636 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2010

It is the 1st green school on Long Island.This is the 1st year that my children have attend this school and we couldn't be happier with it.From the office staff to the janitors and everywhere in between have made my childrens experience at Hampton bays Middle School a great experience! The teachers take time to TEACH.My son went from making 20's in math in his old school to making 90's!! That says it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I have a son who graduated from Hampton Bays. The education he was afforded prepared him for a very successful college experience. It was rich with academics and extracurricular activities. I recommend this district wholeheartedly and without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I am a student here, and I love this school. Although there are a few cliques with the stdents, it isn't the schools fault, and they treat all kids the same. Very few students get detention; I don't know what the other people are talking about. The only problem is that the school clocks are 5 minutes ahead, so students are late.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

As the school year progresses into 2008 I see nothing but the greatest achievment and care from all the school administrators, teachers and students- let us not leave out our great security staff! keep up the great work Hampton Bays! Go Bayman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!! This school is the best school I have ever been to and i have moved about seven times. I will say that the awnser to all problems with the studens is detention, however the student's that are there are all really nice. Teachers set high standards for all student's with confidence in each and every one. Overall, in my oponion there is no better school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2007

Having had 2 children graduate, and one still in middle school, I am very happy with skilled teachers, helpful with children of all capacities. I am proud to send my child to a school with much parent involvement and teacher participation with the parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

There are a few quality teachers in this school, but for the most part they are mediocre at best. They can only teach to the 'ideal' students and have no interest in teaching any other type of student. Their answer is detention. It is a very cliquey faculty and they don't realize how good they have it. Salaries are too high for what they have to offer. Plenty of after school activities available. Parent involvement is asked for, but not really wanted. If I had to do it over again, and if I knew six years ago what I know now, there is no way I would subject my children to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

21 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

174 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

182 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
92%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

161 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students51%
Students with disabilities50%
General population51%

Chemistry

All Students80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Students83%
Students with disabilities64%
General population86%

English

All Students96%
Students with disabilities95%
General population95%

Geometry

All Students90%
Students with disabilities88%
General population89%

Global History and Geography

All Students79%
Students with disabilities39%
General population87%

Integrated Algebra

All Students74%
Students with disabilities48%
General population79%

Living Environment

All Students75%
Students with disabilities58%
General population80%

Physics

All Students75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students93%
Students with disabilities82%
General population95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 48%
Hispanic 36% 23%
Black 1% 19%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 9%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

88 Argonne Rd
Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Phone: (631) 723-2110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Southampton High School
Southampton, NY






Bridgehampton School
Bridgehampton, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT