Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Harrison, NY
Students enrolled: 387

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Purchase School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Great teachers, well organized, private-school class size. They employ a good deal of technology and are concerned with children's safety, sometimes to the extent of being overly procedural. The only downside is the PTA which seems sometimes to cater to the needs of a high-end demographics, in that it is not very sensitive to the participation of working parents.
1 person found this helpful

Purchase School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
I have two children in the school who began in kindergarten and they simply love going to school! I've found the principal & administrative staff to be professional and the teachers to be energetic and caring. This school has a large number of international families several of which have come from as far as Australia, England, India and Japan (just to name a few). I would strongly reccomend this school to anyone considering the area and I'm sure that our principal or one our students would be glad to give you the grand tour.
1 person found this helpful


Purchase School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
Purchase school makes my daughter feel welcome. She is in Kindergarten and has never been upset or afraid to go to school. She looks forward to it everyday. At her age, feeling confirtable in your surroundings is as important as anything else.

Purchase School 1

Posted January 14, 2011
- a community member
This was a great school up until 1997...Since then it has become ridiculously overcrowded. New teachers are hired with limited experience, parking lot is a disaster as people refuse to utilize the bus service. The nurse is never in her office when a child needs medication dispensed..always in the playground or gym as kids are constantly getting hurt due to overcrowding. The PTA is always asking for money- I was asked to contribute money to a class fund of $50 for parties..almost every week,we were asked to contribute money. It's assumed that all the students in this school coem from wealthy families- The truth is many do not and excluded from playdates, parties and almost always are placed in clases with teachers who were hired only days befroe the start of the school year. There's still hope though; the midle and high school are far more diverse and both are excellent schools

Purchase School 5

Posted September 08, 2007
- a parent
One of the warmest and nurturing environments to foster a love of school in the early years.


Purchase School 5

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
Great school!! Very caring staff, wonderful teachers. My son attended kindergarten there and absolutely loved it. The principal was also very involved as well.

Purchase School 5

Posted September 28, 2004
- a parent
I cannot say enough about this school. It amazes me every time I visit. The teachers and principal are very nurturing, even the K classrooms have computers in them, and the range of activites is superb. The excellence of Purchase is also evident when my kids interact with their peers from other schools. In both math and English, it is hard to believe that they are in the same grade. Other than core subjects, Purchase also excels. The music, gym, computer labs, etc. get them excited about many activities. It is also extremely safe and bus service is to and from our driveway. If more public schools were as good as this one, private schools would become a thing of the past.

Purchase School 2

Posted September 24, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Purchase School
2995 Purchase Street, Harrison, NY  10577
(914) 630-3172
Last modified Purchase School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Purchase School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top