Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Hartsdale, NY
Students enrolled: 501

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodlands Senior High School 2

Posted April 03, 2014
- a teacher
Unfortunately, Woodlands High School has not shown the improvement many thought would take place. The frequent change in leadership, both administratively and instruction-wise have not shown significant improvement. Many teachers make little to no effort in improving instruction, administrators do not demand good quality instruction, the "coziness" of teacher staff members with administrators does not lead to quality education.

Woodlands Senior High School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
A hidden gem. Reflection of the real world economically, socially and demographically. Current Principal has great vision and leadership. This Star is a little star with the qualities and potential to be a HUGE star. Parent involvement could be better but the parents that are involved though small in number are big in impact!


Woodlands Senior High School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
The Superintendant of Greenburgh Central 7 is wonderful. The children comes first. The staff is great! Parents need to attend meetings. This school is wonderful and diversified. That is what all schools need. This is the best school in WESTCHESTER NEW YORK

Woodlands Senior High School 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
The principal is progressive and actively prods the teachers to be creative in spite of testing requirements. As in many schools, there are a handful of educators with tenure who fall short; a person may be smart, but that doesn't mean s/he can teach. Yet the majority of educators are committed, excellent and understand how to teach to a diverse demographic. It is absolutely true that motivated students get terrific benefits through independent study and AP courses. Unfortunately, a percentage of students do not get the support at home that stimulates a love of learning. However, any student who strives to find his or her way to educational greatness is presented with many options at WHS. Many seniors augment their education by taking college courses, which prepares them well for higher education. The WISE program, adapted by dozens of schools, BEGAN at Woodlands HS in the '70s: Woodlands Individualized Senior Experience (WISE). WISE is still a jewel in the Woodlands experience, to foster independence and aid the transition of graduating seniors to life after high school.

Woodlands Senior High School 3

Posted October 09, 2013
- a teacher
A three because there is pride and prejudice. The system is a bit corrupt in who has priority due to faculty and student preference. Students of course are above the staff which is a vantage point in their behalf and a misfortune for the teacher. Parents play a critical role in whether a teacher is in/correct an injustice applied by the board/system on the teacher. There is a lot of pride in subject material which should be inspirational but withdraw a child's interest because many are not interested in learning due to their disadvantage in childhood education. Teachers go far and beyond to keep kids active, inspired, and educated with trips, fun educational activities, and real experiments/demos. Those who take advantage and flood themselves in education succeed far and beyond. These students who partake in learning are taught independence and research which is significant asset skills not taught in every school. They truly learn the fundamentals of every subject in depth and have no doubt in their knowledge/education. A three looks good and is a true hardy solid number! Four is really an accomplishment and five I like to consider as an imaginary number; only in a perfect world.


Woodlands Senior High School 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school! The teachers work hard to help their students and they offer many extracurricular programs that encompass a wide variety of interests.

Woodlands Senior High School 2

Posted April 01, 2013
- a teacher
Greenburgh Central 7. The schools previously were dedicated, professionally staffed performing above average. Of late, the past four years or more have witnessed a decline. Administrators have embraced a "cronyism" of sorts, hiring friends not necessarily the best qualified. No active evaluations of staff who are left to do or not do on their own. Less real teaching is overlooked by superiors/administrators. Unfortunately, a mediocre element of education has prevailed. Those in charge have turned a deaf ear and "look the other way" attitude. More teachers and administrators hired for so few students.

Woodlands Senior High School 5

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
The passion and commitment that the teachers have is only surpassed by their dynamic principal. The school's population is diverse, which teaches the students daily how to relate to a bigger world. The arts are alive and the students are challenged to do their best and stretch beyond it. Anyone who thinks otherwise has not stepped inside this school in years or listens to gossip. This school would benefit from greater numbers of parent involvement. The ones who are involved would welcome that.


Woodlands Senior High School 5

Posted July 13, 2011
- a community member
I am a former student of woodlands high school and I highly recommend it to any parent looking for their child to learn beyond algebra and English. What I learned at woodlands not just in the classroom but in the cafeteria and during extracurriculars was more than any school in Westchester can offer. I learned about life.. How to handle and communicate with all types of people, how to be independent, and most of all how to be successful. The friends I made while at high school there are lifetime friends because only they can appreciate the journey that so many shy away from based on bad stigmas and negativity. Woodlands is a diamond in the rough. If parents knew better they would stop sending there kids elsewhere and contribute to the diverse, rich, educational atmosphere woodlands offers. I can guarantee what woodlands offers works because I myself am a PhD in the sciences and electrical engineer, MD, aeronautics engineer, artist, vet, and computer engineer are the careers now of just a few of my lifelong friends who also graduated from there.

Woodlands Senior High School 4

Posted January 25, 2011
- a parent
Hi, My children are attending the middle and highschool. The academic standards are great but parents and teachers need to work together. Losts of improvement since arrival of new principal. My daughter has been accepted to MIT and she has been in this school district alll along. They have great sports programs and the staff is responsible. they email me when my child gets a grade below 85 and we discuss ways to bring it back to the 90s. I am satisfied with the service this school is providing. Parents need to more involved and attend PTA meetings. Together we can make great strides

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodlands Senior High School
475 West Hartsdale Avenue, Hartsdale, NY  10530
(914) 761-6052
Last modified Woodlands Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodlands Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top