Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hempstead High School 1

Posted February 28, 2013
- a community member
As a former employee at the Hempstead school district, and having worked with different individuals I can personally say, that this school district is a very dangerous place to send your children to have an education and learn. (ABGS Middle school and High School.) This school is run by irresponsible adults, NOT professionals whose agendas are to create positions for friends and family sometimes for a fee. this district employs a group of individual whom make a large amount of money to do absolutely nothing. E.g. An individual making 135k dollars per year. Will spend his time in his office for a couple of hours then go to the Hempstead high school field and play golf for the rest of the day, ordering that no one interrupt him while he practice.

Hempstead High School 1

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
Hempstead High School is terrible. It is unorganized and the staff does not care its students. This school has students that roam the halls all day long instead of going to class. The students are disrespectful to staff and each other. This school also has three principals for the ninth graders alone. I'm still trying to figure out why. There is no communication between administrators. If you want the best for your child and for them to be safe and receive a decent education, DO NOT send them to Hempstead High School.


Hempstead High School 2

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
Hempstead High School really need to change their Administration because they are not for the students and the school is not a safe school there are some security guards who do not protect the children. I don't feel my child is safe in the Hempstead High School and i want my child out. I not blaming all staff because you do have some that care but that is not enough. These children need to feel safe going to the high school or other schools in their community. It's too much going on in Hempstead Schools and New York State needs to come and clean these schools up then maybe parents will feel safe sending their child there.

Hempstead High School 1

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hempstead High School 0
no rating

Posted January 14, 2009
- a community member
Hempstead High would be a better school if the Administration would change. It is truly saddened to see a principal remaining in this setting if he is not happy. It would be great to see new blood and a young principal in his position; someone who is a people person, one who can relate to staff and students. Someone who doesn't criticize is staff but works with them as an individual who is compassionate to his/her staffs needs. An individual who knows how to articulate to parents instead of placing threats. One who believes in keeping children in school instead of out of school.


Hempstead High School 5

Posted March 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hempstead High School 1

Posted February 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hempstead High School 3

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
As a parent who is very involved in my child, and being past and present PTSA/PTA president I'm very concern about a lot of issues in Hempstead High school. I feel the principal should really focus more on the students that are left behind. I find that the students that are all ways in the spot light gets more attendtion than the students who are Level 1 and level 2 students. Those are the students he should watch over. Because the does have a lot of kids that are not reading on their grade level. As a parent watch over your child as you enter this school. Please don't get me wrong, there are some wonderful teachers and staff as well as some of the students. A lot of programs for students to become involved in, but like every school you must be very watchful of everything.


Hempstead High School 3

Posted December 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hempstead High School 1

Posted December 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hempstead High School
201 President Street, Hempstead, NY  11550
(516) 434-4201
Last modified Hempstead High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hempstead High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top