Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hempstead High School 1

Posted December 31, 2015
- a teacher
No organization. Security and administration are clueless. Students do what ever they want. Teachers try but they have no support from the administration. The hispanic students are not treated well they are often called "papis" by security and other students. Its not safe at all fights everyday people just walk in and out through every exit. Students skip pass the metal detectors and come in through other entrances.

Hempstead High School
Grateful to: Student

Posted December 31, 2015
- a teacher
I would like to thank all of the students who always do a great job they are a select few but they represent themselves and the school as best as they can.


Hempstead High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 31, 2015
- a teacher
Some teachers do their job but the majority really do not care. Many are burnt out and tired of trying

Hempstead High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 31, 2015
- a teacher
Teachers are told not to give too many assigments and by too many im talking about 2 per week.

Hempstead High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 31, 2015
- a teacher
The school treats students like prison inmates screams at them for everything. Hispanic students are often called names and bullied by security.


Hempstead High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 31, 2015
- a teacher
Administration tells Teachers to water down curriculum so students can pass and so the graduation rate goes up. Well behaved students are. Hardly ever rewarded but the minute a nad student does something thats not bad they get rewarded.

Hempstead High School 1

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
The state needs to take over and clean house. New staff, new board, people who care about our children safety and education. I am scare to send my child there everyday but I have no choice. I am afraid for his safety, I am a parent that have a child that attends this school and I should not have to worry everyday wondering if my child is going to make it home alive. It's not fair to the parents that wants a good education for their children.

Hempstead High School 3

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
The community need to come together and help our children, these children are hurting . Showing love and being Proactive will help the administration drawer closer to our children. Love heals all things. Parent need to spent more time with there children. Time and love heals the wounds our child encounter on a daily basic. Peep pressure haunts our child everyday. Talking to our children letting them know we Love them everyday , will boost their confidence children mind will be strenghten instead of weak. Education is very important in order to get to the next Level.


Hempstead High School 1

Posted February 28, 2013
- a community member
As a former employee at the Hempstead school district, and having worked with different individuals I can personally say, that this school district is a very dangerous place to send your children to have an education and learn. (ABGS Middle school and High School.) This school is run by irresponsible adults, NOT professionals whose agendas are to create positions for friends and family sometimes for a fee. this district employs a group of individual whom make a large amount of money to do absolutely nothing. E.g. An individual making 135k dollars per year. Will spend his time in his office for a couple of hours then go to the Hempstead high school field and play golf for the rest of the day, ordering that no one interrupt him while he practice.

Hempstead High School 1

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
Hempstead High School is terrible. It is unorganized and the staff does not care its students. This school has students that roam the halls all day long instead of going to class. The students are disrespectful to staff and each other. This school also has three principals for the ninth graders alone. I'm still trying to figure out why. There is no communication between administrators. If you want the best for your child and for them to be safe and receive a decent education, DO NOT send them to Hempstead High School.

Nearby schools

Hempstead High School
201 President Street, Hempstead, NY  11550
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (516) 434-4201
Last modified Hempstead High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top