Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public
Herkimer, NY
Students enrolled: 549

2 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Herkimer High School 3

Posted December 08, 2014
- a community member
This school could have made it- it needed to merge with Ilion and Mohawk to become part of the CVA District. The vast majority of the teachers- because they care about the district- voted for the merger even at risk of losing their jobs. A great number of student also wanted to merge. The community even voted to merge in the initial vote. Now this school- along with the entire district- is floundering. Positions have been reduced to part time or cut entirely, with more cuts to come if a miracle doesn't happen. Programs like music-such a strong point in Herkimer- is threatened. A current staff member told me yesterday that a teacher could be cut from every grade. And guess what folks- I've always voted for the budget even if it meant taxes would be raised but no more. Thanks, small minded people and selfish business owners who railroaded the merger- unfortunately, times change and you should have been courageous enough to change with it. Shame upon you!

Herkimer High School 1

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
One of the worst schools ever it's falling apart day by day. Everyday there is some kind of new drama.


Herkimer High School 1

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
THERE IS A THIEF! IN THIS SCHOOL. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME MY GRAND SON'S LOCKER HAS BEE BROKEN IN TO ON 09/13 20013 WHILE HE WHET TO PRATICE SOME ONE TOOK HIS BRAND NEW TOPEND NIKI SNEAKERS FROM HIS GYM LOCKER I HOPE THE SCHOOL STAFF DOE'S ALL POSSIBLE TO RESOLVE THIS AND STOP THIS BAD APPLE FROM SPOILING THE GREAT NAME OF THIS FINE SCHOOL!!!!!!!

Herkimer High School 1

Posted August 29, 2011
- a community member
Hello was a student of this school and i recently graduated. If you can help it do not go to this school. It seems like the one thing they do not care about is education. Students are able to pass with doing little to no work at all. The school has such a little budget is is hard to get anything done. The number one thing that is worst about this school is the lack of tolerance and the awful bullying. I went through it and so did my classmates. Even when we informed the teaches and principals they did nothing on the several accounts that we reported it. I have been to schools far better then this one so go to another school. (The bullying was directed towards "The new kids", Homosexual students, Female students (as in spreading sexual rumors about them) and even the boys too (Many students group up together and pick fights with one student at a time). The one good thing I can say about that school is there are a few really good and sincere teachers that care about students.

Herkimer High School 0
no rating

Posted December 06, 2009
- a community member
This school is not the best. The lack of respect is unexceptable. The children are sometimes mean to each other, and themselves. I understand if you must send your good child their, but look at your other opions first. I hope that you take my edvice.


Herkimer High School 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2009
- a student
this school is very nice, but the people who run the school budget buy stupid way too expensive stuff. most the teachers are very nice and generous, you can to about any teacher for help and they will be nice about it. the french teacher mlle grygiel is like a guidance counsler to many of her students. many many many students go to her instead of the guidance office.

Herkimer High School 4

Posted August 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Herkimer High School 0
no rating

Posted July 24, 2008
- a parent
I agree people are nice. But teachers lack organization and do not communicate with one another. Your children have no idea what they need for school supplies until the first day of school which is a lack of respect for parents. The things that are going on behind those doors are truly unexceptable pertaining to the way the students treat one another and there is not a strong enough discipline action being taken by administration.


Herkimer High School 2

Posted May 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Herkimer High School 1

Posted September 04, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herkimer High School
801 West German Street, Herkimer, NY  13350
(315) 866-2230
Last modified Herkimer High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herkimer High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top