Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Yeshiva of South Shore

Private | PK-8 | 450 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hewlett

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $486,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2010

I am deriving much pleasure from seeing how happy my grandson is & from his understanding of the courses he's being taught so professionally with love & discipline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Because they are extremely tolerant and accepting of all types. Their educational style reflects this by engaging students who are both strong intellectually and those who are struggling. Additionally, they react immediately to any issues a student may have in the most conscientious and thoughtful manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I love the Yeshiva of South Shore because they love the kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

We just switched in from another school because we wanted better teachers, a nice campus, and honest faculty that cares about each child - and we found it at south shore. The chinuch is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Warm and loving staff.....Great education all around
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

The school provides an atmosphere of love and warmth for our children which helps them grow and flourish. I am very impressed with the way they educate my little ones. They come home everyday filled with knowledge and excitement about what they can share with us. We love Yeshivah of South Shore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I love this school because my child loves to go there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

The administration really seems to know every kid, and tries to give them individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

It is the warmest environment a parent could ask for with a commitment to education at all levels
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Enthusiastic staff in a loving environment. Small and personal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

the warmth and caring about each child is tangible, and the kids are truely happy and learning so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

YOSS is an outstanding, warm school with enganging and caring teachers. They create an environment where the students love to learn and truly grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Great Administration, great educators, great parent body
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

The staff are very dedicated people who genuinely care about doing their very best to educate the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

Excellent rabbeim and faculty- strong academic preparation for high school and mesivta learning
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

Truly academic. The teachers were caring and responsible. Not only did they help my son ( who has a math disability) but truly made his grades sore. thank you so much
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Avraham Fridman
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NSHDS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1170 William St
Hewlett, NY 11557
Phone: (516) 374-7363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Shulamith School
Woodmere, NY




Ogden Elementary School
Valley Stream, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT