Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burns Avenue School 5

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Best school and teachers. My son went to kindergarten here in miss Arenth's class and the progress he made was unbelievable. I Highly recommended Burns ave.

Burns Avenue School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is very involved with its students. The teachers teach their students. If your child does not understand something the teacher will take the time to help. The school has plenty of assistants to also help students. The school has reading programs for children who need extra help. These reading teachers are very dedicated to their work with children. The school also has all kinds of activities that involve the student and their parents. The teachers just don't assign homework and not check it, they give grades. The teachers are also creative with giving assignments and projects. The school does not just teach the tests like other schools my son has been to. So I believe my child is getting a solid education.


Burns Avenue School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Burns Avenue school is the backbone of our community. Burns Avenue students are the most important members of our community. The school rewards excellence and supports those that are in need in many different ways. The school is like a second home for our son and our family. we are very fortunate to have such a dedicated and loving staff that is literally in our backyard.

Burns Avenue School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! Principal is great! Teachers and staff are amazing!!! I love being a parent st this school!

Burns Avenue School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
This school is unbelievably awesome The principal, teachers and staff take their responsibilities seriously. We have our son, who attends this school and gets special services. The support and hard work is greatly appreciated and we see our son growing and strengthening every single day. One day, he will know the foundation of his education started here at this school and we as his parents will never forget the people who made it possible! Thanks to all at the Burns Avenue team, you are super! Thank you.


Burns Avenue School 5

Posted May 28, 2010
- a parent
I have nothing but good things to say about Burns Avenue School. The teachers, staff and principal are totally dedicated to the students. Any problem (and there are not many) has always been addressed and resolved. My Dunn, the principal, has an awesome staff that always goes the extra mile, even if your child is not their student. There is extra help if you child needs it, and there are accelerated classes (like Great Books and Math Olympiads) for the advanced learner. This is truly a Great School!

Burns Avenue School
no rating

Posted May 13, 2009
- a student
i love this school im in the highs school now but this was the best thing that could have ever happend to me i miss being there !!

Burns Avenue School 5

Posted June 05, 2007
- a parent
This is an excellent school with sincere and dedicated teachers. The transition for my two kids to this school was pleasant. The Principal strives for excellent discipline and high academic standards. Reading, Writing, Math and Science are excellent in all grades. Extra help is given to the students who need it by an excellent group of teachers. The Music teachers are wonderful. I now have two instrument players who love music. Art Program is superb. Check out their end of the year EXPO to enjoy the creative program, Even the second graders were taught to make a PowerPoint slide show presentation. Computer clubs, Great Books and Math Olympiads offer extra stimulus for the advanced students. Send your kids here for a lovable school experience . The teachers really know how to make learning fun!


Burns Avenue School 5

Posted May 06, 2004
- a parent
Burns Ave is an excellent school with a wonderful principal that cares. Mr. Dunn goes beyond the call of duty and is willing to speak to all parents on any matter concerning the school or your child. Academically it is challenging for the children. My child does very well and loves her teachers. The PTA is very involved in this school. My child was originally at Westbury Friends and this place ranks way above Friends. I recommend Burns for anyone considering on moving into the Hicksville or Jericho Gardens with elementary aged kids.

Burns Avenue School 5

Posted January 26, 2004
- a parent
I have nothing but Great things to say about the Teachers and the Principal of Burns Ave. Wchool.. Its been a pleasure dealing with all of them... Thanks.

Nearby schools

Burns Avenue School
40 Burns Avenue, Hicksville, NY  11801
(516) 733-2311
Last modified Burns Avenue School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top