Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hicksville High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1733 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

Hicksville Schools are excellent. Our children have achieved greatly during the current administration. The budget, technology and teachers make this a great school district. The marching band, honor society, wellness fare, homecoming, clubs, talent shows, athletics, school plays and concerts showcase dedication and talent of students and faculty. Private colleges have given a majority of our students full and partial academic scholarships at the high school's on-site interviews for the past several years. The parent involvement and PTA is extraordinarily committed to all of our students. We are so proud of our Hicksville community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

I would like to comment on the October 29th 2013 reviewer. Obviously they don't live in Hicksville as they stated, " If I lived in Hicksville- there is no doubt I would pay for private school". Why is this post here if they don't live in Hicksville?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

This school before 2006 was very outdated. New staff and teachers came and went quickly as they would tell me Hicksville high school was one of the lowest paying districts in Nassau. Student body was diverse. Huge ESL class, roof collapsed and many broken windows sent a cold draft into the classrooms as a result students wore large jackets in class. Not a college prep high school, parents who know better send their children to private school A large numbers of children in Hicksville attend private school as a result of this notoriously poor district.


Posted October 29, 2013

If you want a quality pre college prep for your child/student, then this school is not for them. Faculty is mediocre -at best, facilities are out dated and general atmosphere dismal. I graduated from HHS and - needed immense prep when I entered college. I received that and went on to receive advanced degrees, but looking I can honestly say I learned - zero- at HHS. If I lived in Hicksville- there is no doubt I would pay for private school. HHS is not the place to prepare kids for college. Send your students to private school- this place is an academic failure.


Posted February 26, 2013

This School is terrible at best. Besides the "extra curricular activities" It needs a total overhaul. Most schools on the Island offer more vocational alternatives, for different students with different needs. They will discipline them until they end up being neglected instead of helped. In the year 2013 there must be a better way to help these children. Not Just reiterating " Your child needs to go to extra help"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

all I can say is I am sorry I moved here probably the worsed as far as community there is non its a hodge podge of transients . Its the people that create the atmosphere of a " I dont care attitude". Take the same teacher and put him/her in plainview schools and its a different story they are going to work for the money. Hicksville is loaded with kids from different districts forging residential equivalents. They come troubled from other schools to create trouble here. I wish I could move it would be the best thing for all of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

As an alumni of Hicksville High School, it's difficult to hear parents suggesting that the faculty and administration at the school are inept in their roles. Looking back at my own time their I had only myself to blame for not doing better in school, or getting into my first choice for my undergraduate degree. My teachers were excellent, dedicated a tremendous amount of time to trying to get me to work to my potential, and stay engaged with my progress as well as that of my peers. While classroom size, breadth of the curriculum, and test scores, lag neighboring school/school districts (Jericho etc), the key is for parents to keep kids engaged with the material, ensure teachers make the work applicable to real life where possible, and communicate where they feel there are gaps.


Posted September 15, 2010

I believe Hicksville is an excellent school.Both of my boys play football.All of the athletic teams have been recoginized by the state for academic excellence.The marching band has won 6 straight state titles under the direction of Ms. Tittler.Who is recoginized as the best in Nassau County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Both my children went to Hicksville High school and did fabulous. My daughter graduated and has a wonderful career great job. My son is graduating this year and is hoping to get into one of the top universities. Anyone that has a problem with the school will have a problem in any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I believe hicksville highschool is a very good school. I am a junior going to hicksville and i love it here I love the staff and the teachers are really helpfull. Class of 2010
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

This school has some very dedicated teachers who serve the students well. The fine arts department is one of the best in the district and has won numerous awards over the years. The bad news is the administration is, at best, inept. Ms. Leak, a newcomer to the school, but not the district is the only bright spot here while the principal, Brij Singh is one of the worst principals this school has ever had. Her multiple inabilities is causing the school to slide slowly downhill. Several other administrators are equally inept and the guidance department is also in decline. I will be happy when my daughter finally graduates next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

This is the worst school ever!, I 'm a freshmen, first of all the students are terruble and most teachers good. The office staff and guidance couselors are a joke, there not even helpful. I see students each morning smoking onn the corner, they are disrespectful to teachers, staff and security. I went to catholic school, nothing was like this . I can't wait to get out of this school. Its the worst school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

Hicksville High School offers many exciting programs for the student who engage in extracurricular and co-curricular activities. The Science Olympiad team continues to be in the top ten schools on LI, and has won third and second place in the last two years. The music and art programs continue to shine with many students receiving county, state and national awards. The sports teams are continuously named as scholar athlete teams and compete with great success against much larger better funded schools. The students grades are fair, not inflated as in many districts like Syosset. And Hicksville High School offers challenging AP courses as well as Chinese and German. We are very happy with how the school prepares our children for college and the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

This school is a problem to these kids, not only is it out of control it has a poor administration and a bad future for these children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

terrible gudience and overall poor help towards students future plans. Did not try to help my child get a scholarship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

This school is going downhill fast and the administration is just sitting back and watching it happen as they cash their paychecks. Some of the teachers are actually good TEACHERS, but most of them do not teach. The guidance department is a joke. The guidance counselors do as little as possible and make it very obvious that they do not want to do their jobs. The principle and one of the assistant principles (Mr. Roach) are totally out of touch with reality. They are impossible to talk to. The students and parents as well, have problems with both of them. They are taking up space that needs to be filled with competant individuals. The principle actually thinks that 'there are no drugs or weapons in my school. If there were, I would know it.' Those were her words. These students are being robbed of a good HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I have one child in the school and He is very involved and loves it. He is learning a lot and growing as a person. My other two will be there in the next three years. The teachers are great and very caring. Their is an abundance of all types of activities. The parents are very involved in the school. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

I had 2 children go through the high school, it was a great school when my oldest was in the four years, went alittle down hill with my youngest and now I am glad we are done. The Romanos are great in english department. Ms. Kelly-Charaloumbous is wonderful and a great teacher. Mrs. Muscalino in science dept another great one. They need to clean house in the administration office thats for sure. And crack down and check out to make sure that everyone who is going to the school actually belongs there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

I graduated from Hicksville High School as part of the Class of 2002. I don't want to give my name, but I will add that I was ranked between 115 and 120 out of a class size of I believe it was 330 or so. But I loved every minute of what I had to offer. Mr. Romano and Mrs. Romano (formerly Kahres) were two of the greatest English teachers I've ever encountered. Ms. Kelly-Charaloumbous was a fantastic math teacher. I learned a lot from her. Ms. Hilsky was the best of all. I love Social Studies all my life and she gave me a greater perspective. In fact, I exhausted all of the possible Social Science courses at my school. And I could never forget Ms. Temps, a teacher who truely cared about her students, always willing to assist a student in need. Hicksville High School was a great place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 20, 2006

A great school, nice teachers, diverse student body.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

30 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

465 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

207 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students54%
Female58%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Non-migrant54%

Chemistry

All Students73%
Female76%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant73%

Earth Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities38%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%

English

All Students86%
Female89%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities55%
General population91%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Geometry

All Students75%
Female76%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities64%
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%

Global History and Geography

All Students83%
Female83%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities49%
General population89%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%

Integrated Algebra

All Students60%
Female64%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities37%
General population67%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%

Living Environment

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities58%
General population93%
English language learners31%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%

Physics

All Students79%
Female78%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant79%

U.S. History and Government

All Students87%
Female85%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities61%
General population90%
English language learners43%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 48% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 26% 9%
Hispanic 2 22% 23%
Black 2 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 120%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 35%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

180 Division Ave
Hicksville, NY 11801
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 733-2202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT