Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Old Country Road School

Public | K-5 | 321 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2013

I graduated Old Country Road four years ago and I had a great education there compared to the other elementary schools in hicksville my school mates went to. Old Country Road has prepared me the best to move on to the Hicksville Middle School. But now I am curently an Honors student at the Hicksville High School and I couldnt have done it with out them and my supportive parents that let me enroll in after school activites like the Old Country Road baton team. Other hicksville schools I would reccomend would be Lee Avenue or Woodland that are amazingly simliar to Old Country Road. From their Prinicbles(choosen every 5-8 yrs), PTA, after school activites, spaced out class rooms, kind/ well behaved students, and very good/encouraging teachers.


Posted March 31, 2013

Led by a great principal and terrific teachers, OCR serves its students well. As an educator, the quality of education surpasses a number of area private schools. The special services are more than adequate. With a strong PTA, there are varied activities supported throughout the year. One problem is that not enough new families attend PTA meetings and get involved. Because of this, the same people are stuck running everything. And, when parents see the same parents running everything, they start complaining. Stop complaining and get active with the PTA. A lot of the current PTA fixtures are leaving, so new faces are needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

It is a great school. My boys LOVE it.......Mr Lubrano is great and so are MOST of the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

Terrible. The learning quality is terrible. The teachers are unsatisfactory. Everything about this school is terrible. If you want to send your child to a great school, do not send them here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

My girls have attended OCR since Kindergarten and I have to say this school is the best. We came from Queens 4 years ago and I'd have to say my girls are getting a great education here and my son will join OCR's family this coming year so, I have to thank Mr. Lubrano and all the teachers we've had, have now and will have in the future for an exceptional job and well beyond the call of duty! It's not just a school it's truly more like a big family. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

I am very happy with Old Country Road School (OCR)This school has an excellent principal, professional and caring teachers. All of the school staff is like a family. They have a lot of fun and at the same time educational activities. My son loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

As a parent of 2 children in OCR I must say this has been a great experience for our family. We love Mr labrano and most of the staff in this wonderful school.keep up the great work OCR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2006

Excellent School, I have 2 children in OCR and its been a wonderful experience all the way through the years. Small school and more like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2005

There are some good teachers here but the school is lacking in technology. In that area, it is definitely behind the other Hicksville elementary schools. Good parental involvement (PTA) but prinicpal needs to be more involved and not wait for the moms to do everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

I have not been happy at all with my kindergarden experience this year at OCR -These little ones had a substitute for 2 1/2 months and their class size already at the legal max was increasing. By the time the real teacher came in, there were 27 students in the class without any aids. I have spoken and written to the principal about this, among other issues and the only answer I ever get is 'I'll have to see..' I've asked about next year and no one can say if a third class will be opened! Apparently no one is running this district! Do not move here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2004

OCR is a very good school. Teachers are wonderful and caring. The principal is very involved and visible, although he needs to be more outgoing and personable and sometimes more flexible. Needs to push new technology and modernize the school's infrastructure. Needs to become more innovative and not depend so heavily on the PTA to develop all extracurricular activities--although he is supportive of the PTA. Let's get the school and it's programs into the 21st century! However, the teachers, again, are excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 36% 48%
Hispanic 1 32% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 29% 9%
Black 2 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 117%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 132%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 18%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ANTHONY LUBRANO

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

49 Rhodes Ln
Hicksville, NY 11801
Website: Click here
Phone: (516) 733-2302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family School
Hicksville, NY



Dutch Lane School
Hicksville, NY


Burns Avenue School
Hicksville, NY



Lee Avenue School
Hicksville, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT