Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Hicksville, NY
Students enrolled: 310
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Old Country Road School 5

Posted April 13, 2013
- a community member
I graduated Old Country Road four years ago and I had a great education there compared to the other elementary schools in hicksville my school mates went to. Old Country Road has prepared me the best to move on to the Hicksville Middle School. But now I am curently an Honors student at the Hicksville High School and I couldnt have done it with out them and my supportive parents that let me enroll in after school activites like the Old Country Road baton team. Other hicksville schools I would reccomend would be Lee Avenue or Woodland that are amazingly simliar to Old Country Road. From their Prinicbles(choosen every 5-8 yrs), PTA, after school activites, spaced out class rooms, kind/ well behaved students, and very good/encouraging teachers.

Old Country Road School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
Led by a great principal and terrific teachers, OCR serves its students well. As an educator, the quality of education surpasses a number of area private schools. The special services are more than adequate. With a strong PTA, there are varied activities supported throughout the year. One problem is that not enough new families attend PTA meetings and get involved. Because of this, the same people are stuck running everything. And, when parents see the same parents running everything, they start complaining. Stop complaining and get active with the PTA. A lot of the current PTA fixtures are leaving, so new faces are needed.


Old Country Road School
no rating

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
It is a great school. My boys LOVE it.......Mr Lubrano is great and so are MOST of the teachers!

Old Country Road School 1

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
Terrible. The learning quality is terrible. The teachers are unsatisfactory. Everything about this school is terrible. If you want to send your child to a great school, do not send them here!

Old Country Road School 5

Posted January 26, 2008
- a parent
My girls have attended OCR since Kindergarten and I have to say this school is the best. We came from Queens 4 years ago and I'd have to say my girls are getting a great education here and my son will join OCR's family this coming year so, I have to thank Mr. Lubrano and all the teachers we've had, have now and will have in the future for an exceptional job and well beyond the call of duty! It's not just a school it's truly more like a big family. We love it!


Old Country Road School 5

Posted April 11, 2007
- a parent
I am very happy with Old Country Road School (OCR)This school has an excellent principal, professional and caring teachers. All of the school staff is like a family. They have a lot of fun and at the same time educational activities. My son loves going to school.

Old Country Road School 4

Posted April 02, 2007
- a parent
As a parent of 2 children in OCR I must say this has been a great experience for our family. We love Mr labrano and most of the staff in this wonderful school.keep up the great work OCR!

Old Country Road School 5

Posted December 16, 2006
- a parent
Excellent School, I have 2 children in OCR and its been a wonderful experience all the way through the years. Small school and more like a family.


Old Country Road School 3

Posted March 27, 2005
- a parent
There are some good teachers here but the school is lacking in technology. In that area, it is definitely behind the other Hicksville elementary schools. Good parental involvement (PTA) but prinicpal needs to be more involved and not wait for the moms to do everything.

Old Country Road School 3

Posted March 07, 2004
- a parent
I have not been happy at all with my kindergarden experience this year at OCR -These little ones had a substitute for 2 1/2 months and their class size already at the legal max was increasing. By the time the real teacher came in, there were 27 students in the class without any aids. I have spoken and written to the principal about this, among other issues and the only answer I ever get is 'I'll have to see..' I've asked about next year and no one can say if a third class will be opened! Apparently no one is running this district! Do not move here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Old Country Road School
49 Rhodes Lane, Hicksville, NY  11801
(516) 733-2302
Last modified Old Country Road School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Old Country Road School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top