Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James I O Neill High School 3

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
O'Neill doesn't excessively build up nor tear down. Experiences your child get's LITERALLY results from what they have inside, or you ALL make of it; little comes from the school itself. If you're an introvert, or struggle with "school," life will be a challenge. Force them to help you! School starts early; buses arrive by 630. It's very clique-like because of what they offer and focus on. If you're not a sportsaholic, academic junkie or "attractive-college-transcript focused," little is left. EVERYTHING is centered around academics and sports!!! Arts are offered as courses but there aren't activities after school or clubs that support that type of interest. This set up forces kids into groups, or cliques, rather than them choosing their passion. Well-roundedness is verbally encouraged but not fostered by activities. The counselors are responsive to me when I call for help and strive for your child to look attractive to colleges. In general, the school has a decent atmosphere. What I would like to see is more clubs offered for the artsy-fartsy or engineer-minded kid. Generally, the area is very competitive. Students follow suit. There isn't an much of an outlet from that mindset.

James I O Neill High School 4

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
Pro: high achieving children are well supported, decent course offerings, decent extracurricular variety. Small size seems to make inclusion easier for military kids. Large population of high achieving kids due to high achieving parents stationed at/employed by West Point. Con: as in most high schools, foul language, inappropriate attire during the school day and lewd behavior at dances. I think parent chaperones would solve some of this at dances.(not allowed) Dress code is randomly enforced. Uniforms might be helpful. (Also minimizes difference between 'haves' and 'have nots')


James I O Neill High School 1

Posted November 12, 2011
- a parent
This school caters to the high performers - both academic and athletic. If your kid is already in the top 10% of his or her peers, this school will focus lots of effort and resources to maximize your kids success. The remaining 90% of the student body are neglected in every way. An awful cadre of teachers serves the majority of the student body, extracuricular sponsors ignore the students not competitive for college scholarship, ect. The vast majority of the student body would progress farther if the government simply issued out the text books, sent the kids home, and bulldozed the school.

James I O Neill High School
no rating

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school with great teachers. Your child will get a solid education if he really wants it. Try hard enough and you will succeed. Every school has its problems but there are none significant enough to mention. 92% of the students graduate and many go one to 4 year colleges. My child graduated 4th in her class and went on to a university that was almost impossible to get into from out of state.

James I O Neill High School
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
This school is a very organized school I like it .


James I O Neill High School 3

Posted March 15, 2009
- a student
O'Neill is definitely what you make of it as the October 17, 2007 post said. If you take advanced classes you will be surrounded with other students determined to do well, and you will do well. I would highly recommend getting envolved in extracurriculars. Sports take up a lot of time but you make a ton of friends from the other feeder schools. As far as high schools go O'Neill is amazing good at not having cliques. There are general categories that one can groups some students in, but considering there are a lot of military kids there and new students, its easy to make friends. If you go to O'Neill take chorus!! The director is amazing and they win a ton of competitions. If you have some talent, I recommend the audition groups too. I love the school but it's really what you make of it.

James I O Neill High School 4

Posted December 12, 2008
- a parent
All of my children are graduates of O'Neill High School, and all are doing very well. They received a very good education at O'Neill. Those who knock this school should take the time to compare with other area schools. I think that they will find that O'Neill is one of the best.

James I O Neill High School 3

Posted October 17, 2007
- a student
O'Neill is what the student makes of it. If he/she is lazy and unmotivated he/she will quickly fall behind here. However, if he/she is determined he/she will accelerate with peers with similiar goals. Course offered are sub par. They have the basic AP class and nothing more.


James I O Neill High School 1

Posted July 28, 2006
- a parent
This is a school which could be portrayed on the simpson's, it is so bad. The principal is completely ineffective, and is not interested in what parents need. the teachers are very lax about their assignments - if you turn it in ok, if you don't, ok. There are a few good teachers but most are pretty mediocre. The teachers did not respond to my request for a conference, even after a phone call, AND a written mailed letter. Children are allowed to misbehave at concerts, and the principal said it is not his problem. The soccer coach did not show up for practices, and it was 'not his problem'. One redeeming thing: the Choir program is exemplary, and worth the time. The band program is also mediocre, but choir is good.

James I O Neill High School 5

Posted August 20, 2005
- a student
Excellent school. I went there and compared to other public schools its heaven. You meet great people and the hallways are not allways crowded with people. Theres not many or any stuck up people and its just a great place. You never knew how good you had it intill you lost it.

Nearby schools

James I O Neill High School
21 Morgan Road, Highland Falls, NY  10928
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (845) 446-4914
Last modified James I O Neill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top