Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hinsdale Central School 2

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
I have found Hinsdale school to be very far behind. I have a daughter that attended school in another state then after a move she is now going to hinsdale and they are alot farther behind than her old school. My daughter has gotten extra help in her reading and it hasnt helped her at all. Hinsdale has no pto for parent involvement. Hinsdale is a clean school but I think my daughter would be better off going to a school where she can get more direct help and hinsdale just cant offer her what she needs.

Hinsdale Central School 2

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
Hinsdale school is way behind the other schools in this state and most other states. Hinsdale offers no PTO for parent involvement. Test scores are lower than most other schools as well. Not impressed.


Hinsdale Central School 5

Posted October 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hinsdale Central School 4

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hinsdale Central School 5

Posted October 23, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hinsdale Central School 1

Posted September 07, 2007
- a parent
I live in Hinsdale School District and have two children. One very bright a self learner- no problems with school. The other needs extra help. Hinsdale School, as I believe all NY State public schools removed the phonics program. Some children including my youngest need this and needed to be taught how to read by learning the sounds of the letters etc. Instead Hinsdale School taught him/her to read by looking at the picture clues. He no longer goes to school there as FINALLY when he got through 3rd grade, Hinsdale decided that they didn't have the 'programs' to teach him to read. He was shifted to another school and put in a 'program' that I dare say hasn't helped his education. Yes, he is more confident, but he could have succeeded if the time was taken in the beginning of his education to teach him properly.

Hinsdale Central School 4

Posted February 16, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hinsdale Central School 4

Posted November 20, 2005
- a former student
Excellent educators and friendly faculty


Hinsdale Central School 4

Posted August 20, 2005
- a teacher
The k-4 program is one of the best in the state with creative and individual attention to students. However, there is no parent program like PTA or PTO! Does that explain student success rates?

Hinsdale Central School 1

Posted November 07, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hinsdale Central School
3701 Main Street, Hinsdale, NY  14743
(716) 557-2227
Last modified Hinsdale Central School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hinsdale Central School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top