Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 118 Lorraine Hansberry

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 601 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2013

I know from first hand about ps118 the staff is rude from the school safety officer up to the principal the goal is not educate all kids but to promote some and to demote others the staff will do all in their to power prevent certain kid from have a meaningful education they will make stories about kids to destroy their self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

My son had been going here for three years, both last year and this year they split his class up and send the students to new classrooms leaving the children to catch themselves up. My son had always been an honor student and this year he is having the worst time trying to catch up,i tell him to ask his teacher for help and he says"mommy I did and she said she doesn't have time for all that" shocking isn't it he's only in 3rd grade. Very disappointed in what this school has become
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

its a great school good teachers students staff members but sometimes there to harsh on the kids but other wise its wonderful school and i think it should go up to grade 8
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

The last two reviews are a true to every word..Your kids arent safe both inside or outside the school. The office staff is rude and unhelpful. The discpline level is at 0.....This school once was a good school but since this new principal took over all fell down......This school is a failing school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

I agree with the comment below. When my daughter attended that school last year. I witness a group of kids fighting each other, bullying another child. I was looking for a security guard or someone who was outside NO ONE I decided the break up the fight and yell at the kids and they all ran. I told the security guard and she stated that she was not supposed to leave that desk at all. I was shock that a school has a system like that. My glad that my daughter got accepted to the new charter school few blocks away. I love her new school. Good ridding Public School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

At times I fear for my children's safety. I've witnessed several fights where staff members just sat around and watched. I myself had to come to the children's aid. Unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

PS118Q is one of the greatest schools in Queens. When my son got expelled from P.S 36Q because of his behavior (AHDH), I enrolled him in PS118Q. The school accepted and cared for him with all his problems, but I must admit, if it was not for the councilors who are well trained to deal with students like my son. My son's life and mine would have been a nightmare. My son is now in the gifted program at that shcool. He received a 4 on his ELA and a high 3 on this math exam in 2008. Thank you PS118Q.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

Great school my sisters.Brothers and I went here and now our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

It is the best school so far the teachers and staff are very nice and friendly and they try to help you in any way ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

the school is great, teachers are wonderful,but the kids need more control in the classroom and lunch room.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 3, 2006

Academic programs are very good. The teachers are excellent. However, parent involvement is very poor. Greater parent involvement can make this school number one, especially in the behavior of the children. More music, art and sports are needed so that all the children can participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

The Lorraine Hansberry school has some of the most caring, dedicated teachers in the New York City Public School System. They will do whatever it takes to help students who are struggling and to enrich those with special talents. I have taught at Lorraine Hansberry (P.S. 118Q)since 1987. I am also a member of the School Leadership Team, working closely with hardworking, concerned, caring parents and administrators. Together, our emphasis is on nurturing children, individualizing education and creating future leaders. While liteacy and math are our focus, we do have band and an afterschool program of dance, arts & crafts and athletics. And, as the computer teacher at the school, I can tell you that we are innovative when it comes to technology. We have a media library, computerized science lab, a math lab, and a great computer program. Visit our school online at http://www.118queens.org and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 12, 2006

My daughter entered PS 118Q in the midddle of the school year in 1st Grade. The school has provided my daughter with a solid education. My daughter is in a Talent and Gifted Class and the teachers have taken their time with her. The teachers have made a point of getting their students prepared for state and city examinations. There are many extracurricular actvities for the students. The principal has made a point of bringing arts into the school. In addition the Scan Tek lab at the school is remarkable. My daughter has received a education at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 86% 19%
Hispanic 2 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 275%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 3%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 179 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15034%
Teachers2978%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CHERYL JONES

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

190-20 109th Rd
Hollis, NY 11412
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 465-5538

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps Is 208
Saint Albans, NY


Ps 134 Hollis
Hollis, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT