Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wellspring Elementary

Private | PK-5 | 99 students

Wellspring is best know for Creativity, Hands-On, Quran Memorization
 
 

 
 

Living in Hollis

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $360,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,340.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 12, 2014

The few positive reviews are done my the administration of this school. If you like throwing your money away and ensure your kids are behind in education, this is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

I really wanted a place I wouldn't have to compromise a good education for an Islamic one . I am sorry to say this did not happen. Things like calling previous employer were not done! Teachers were hired in a rush and with the lowest salaries! You cannot run a good school without good teachers no matter how good your model is. It is very disturbing to see your kids changing teachers three times in a year! The psychological impact on the kids is never taken into perspective! Parents are never informed of why teachers leave,, why teachers are fired or why nonmuslim a or assistants are hired. The whole school year has been one marketing show after another rather than for educating the kids. The art auction, the science fair or the graduation. The focus is never on the kids actually enjoying the activity . Rather it's all about impressing the parents. I expected more from the school. And it pains me to write this but I really feel prospective parents should have the full picture before signing up. This is just like any other Islamic school. You get the mess the politics the drama but you pay way more for it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2014

Wow! The graduation//show was amazing! I can't believe my kids can get up on stage like that, memorize their lines so well! most kids were able to speak so clearly and project their voices like experienced performers! The kids who recited Quran did so well, my husband told me he heard the Qari from Egypt said their recitations were outstanding. Just in this event I see so much benefit. The self confidence and cooperation that is developed through preparing is invaluable. The staff and children did an amazing job. My only complaint is that some of the parents still behave very immaturely and got up in the middle, chatting, eating, drowning out the poor children on stage. What childish behavior from adults! If you are considering wellspring, please be sure you are mature and serious about education. Otherwise you will miss all the good and only detract from it. I know wellspring is right for my family. The classrooms and administration are so creative and it's clear the care, concern and knowledge that goes into building it. We are very pleased and will not take it for granted because we know it is a diamond in the rough and will only continue to get better, with Allah's help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2014

I was at the graduation ceremony. I have to say I am surprised the kids can perform such a beautiful show. To see them very confidently performing on stage, is a really proud moment for me. There are mistakes here and there, but that made them even cuter. Hey, this is a school performance. I am proud of my kid and his friends. They practiced hard, and they memorized such a long skit. We should be very proud of their hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2014

The school is excellent in their performance and the environment . I wish them the best they are working very hard god bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

Subhana ALLAH my heart aches to have to write this about an islamic project where people are trying to make it work. The thing is that the two reviews i read here were one of the reasons i registered my kids so i believe that new parents should know the whole picture. From what i see Academic 7/10 quran 9/10 Arabic 10/10 Hands On 6/10 i guess it all depends on your priorities... The thing that bothered me the most is that every single thing costs $$... so although you pay a small fortune...it only covers basics...any sort of trips (well one trip) you have to pay, school event with kids (you have to pay...graduation), fundraising you are practically bullied to sell tickets ... i just felt the whole year was pay, pay, pay over and above the tuition... it unfortunately takes away from the feeling of belonging to this school. If you have lots of money and dont mind paying for everything i would say go for it...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

School is not as good as they make it seem. A bit unorganized, and parents are not allowed to be involved. Tuition is very high for the education they are providing. It seems that they are more concerned on marketing the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Allahu Akbar! Alhamdulillah, Wellspring has done everything they claimed and much more. I have personally NEVER seen a school developed and as efficient as Wellspring. Br. Shakiel and his staff have done a phenomenal job . . .
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Urdu
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Arabic languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Urdu

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 3:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jesus, son of Mary, Mosque
Fax number
  • (888) 776-6912

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Wellspring Model
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arabic languages
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Urdu
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Wellspring Elementary follows the Wellspring Model of education which focuses on creativity and higher order thinking. It employs various forms of assessment and does not rely on standardized forms of testing as the main vehicle for assessment.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

90-20 191st. Street
Hollis, NY 11423
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 721-3523

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 95 Eastwood
Jamaica, NY


The Bellaire School
Queens Village, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT