Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
99 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wellspring Elementary 4

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
seeing progress with the issues that parents are having with the school, the teachers are great but strongly feel that the CEO needs to step aside for the good of the school and let it be run by new management. Looking at how this year goes to determine whether my kids will stay or not. great atmosphere for kids, but admin needs to pay more attention to parent concerns

Wellspring Elementary 2

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Ideas sold to parents are different from what takes place. Parents are kept at an arms length. Extremely high teacher turnover. Teachers are changed without notice and parents not informed by the school. Some grades lost 3 teachers in 1 yr. Admin gets defensive when concerns are brought to them. Website displays credentials of teachers that are no longer at the school. School is marketed to make you feel they have the best teachers/best islamic environment, but with non Muslim teachers teaching your children it's hard to agree. No school nurse, high teacher turnover, teachers underpaid/ finances not explained. Each year more parents withdraw from the school. Children who left wellspring and gone to public schools have been behind academically. The wellspring model of creativity, islamic /Arabic concepts being integrated into the curriculum is misleading. I have not witnessed it in hw/classwork. On the positive its a small school, kids are familiar with each other. The Arabic and Quran teachers are great.


Wellspring Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Each year there are new teachers, some return for a year or two but the norm since inception is just 1 year or they leave mid year.

Wellspring Elementary
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
This school has been on the decline since inception. Each year parents leave and the initial grades account for the larger class sizes, as you transition to the older grades the numbers dwindle to single digits.

Wellspring Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
The integrity of this school is highly questionable. It's a business and run as such. I think the teachers (from my experience) have been fair for the most part but overall honesty depends on the teacher. Not all are the same.


Wellspring Elementary 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
Love love love this school alhamdolilah! Great academics, great atmosphere, close knit community feeling with the teachers and staff, and really involved parents. Would love to see an expansion of the school and more resources such as a computer lab and library. Otherwise I am a very happy parent knowing my children are in good hands alhamdolilah

Wellspring Elementary 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
Wellspring is a new school which opened in 2011 since then it is very clear that the staff is learning from mistakes and striving to better and correct the issues the school has. The school has always excelled in academics, Quran and arabic. This year it is evident the group of teachers are more experienced and the communication between parents and teachers/admin has greatly improved. There are more opportunities for parents to be involved in the school which is very refreshing compared to previous years. Looking forward to seeing the school continue to improve to the vision and standards set by admin.

Wellspring Elementary 5

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
To tell the truth I was a little hesitate to send back my kids to this school. Last year was tough but Alhamdulillah I think this year they have a band of strong teachers. I got emails every Friday informing what the students learn that week and also what they will learn the next week. So communication between teachers and parents are built very good in Wellspring. I just received their report card and I can tell from the teachers' comments about my kids that they really understand my kids' characteristic and personalities, not just one copy-paste comment applied for all students. In shaa Allah, with Allah's help this school will continue to educate our children.


Wellspring Elementary 1

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
Creativity and hands on is still sub par at this school. I am pleased with Arabic as my child is learning to read. I agree with the comment listed earlier regarding lack of positive reinforcement- there is none. My child who is in public school has awards, certificates, pizza parties for good behavior and class competitions vs this school where each child regardless of how good or disruptive they are gets to select from a treasure jar. Children at a young age like recognition and to be told they did well and congratulated. The parents at this school are all professionals and we want the best for our children. I cant say if I will return for another year because I am not happy academically. My child performs well according to school standards but having my child tested raised concerns. It is a small school and teachers are easily accessible which is a plus but to recap I am not happy with academics, lack of parental involvement, lack of creativity and lack of hands on projects/learning. As with any new school there will be hiccups but the reputation of this school has been on the decline which is also worrysome. Just wish things were a bit different at this school.

Wellspring Elementary 3

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
I will agree that admin has phobia of letting parents involved in school. They think that they know best, which is why they have bad reviews. They charge money for everything and fundraisers are a way to get more money out of school's parents (who are already in a financial burden of tuition). Finally, creativity is still something I am looking for. On the other hand, Wellspring has good vision and educational standards. Their Quran Hifz is wonderful, Academic expectations are high (quality of a good school), teachers are dedicated to the students, competent & approachable (not all are Masters level), Arabic for higher grades is good, and we are able to get weekly updates. In addition, the school parents are highly educated professionals. They all value education (if they complain, admin please take notice!!) I really hope the school gets their act together soon (just get parents involved, they can do wonders with their ideas), otherwise their parents turnover will be similar to teachers turnover rate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wellspring Elementary
90-20 191st. Street, Hollis, NY  11423
(718) 721-3523
Last modified Wellspring Elementary is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Wellspring Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top