Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Hopewell Junction, NY
Students enrolled: 2,174

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Jay Senior High School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
My kids transferred in from a different state. No effective transfer program. The school cannot even provide them with Id's. Special education department is a joke, I pulled my kid out of it. Met with a guidance counselor who told us it is to much work to move out daughter mid semester. Some good teachers but support staff needs a class in manners and how to be nice to people.

John Jay Senior High School 4

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
I am not a fan of the public school system in general and this school is indeed WAY TOO big but I must say that there are many terrific teachers here despite what some reviews here have reported. My child entered as a freshman from private school 3 years ago and I think the leadership within the school does a great job managing the incredible size of the student body while still offering a solid AP and honors curriculum and some great teaching.


John Jay Senior High School 1

Posted March 04, 2014
- a student
Horrid school with overly crowded halls. Teachers overload students with far too much work and double that load on weekends. Gym class forces students to climb a telephone pole and jump off with only a tiny rope and an ineffective teacher on the other end. Any attempt to have that modified results in a failing grade and stubborn responses from various teachers and principals. The gym requirements are inflexible and can result in otherwise bright children being forced to drop out since graduating is impossible for them. Ability to go from regents classes to non-regents ones is also near impossible even though they claim it is easy in orientation. 99% of the teachers are poor at best with only a few being remotely positive teaching their classes.

John Jay Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
They have done and excellent and creative job with Special Ed.

John Jay Senior High School 4

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John Jay Senior High School 5

Posted February 15, 2009
- a parent
This school is one of the finest educational institutions i have ever had the pleasure of knowing. The staff and janitorial staff are absolutely delightful and kind to the students while providing a fun, clean, safe work and learning environment. I sincerely believe that for one to have the opportunity to attend such an illustrious institition is the chance of a lifetime.

John Jay Senior High School 4

Posted August 08, 2008
- a community member
Though it has been 4 years since I have graduated from John Jay, I still believe it to be a fantastic school. As a former education major in college I have had the chance to observe many schools and I have found that 'Jay' offers excellent courses, activities and teachers.

John Jay Senior High School 5

Posted June 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


John Jay Senior High School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Jay Senior High School 5

Posted May 04, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Jay Senior High School
2012 Route 52, Hopewell Junction, NY  12533
(845) 897-6700
Last modified John Jay Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Jay Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top