Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridge Road School

Public | PK-4 | 379 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

I agree with all the positive statements people have made. So glad out children get to go to Ridge Road school. Everyone has been super nice and helpful and created a nurturing and learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

Ridge Road Elementary is pack full of dedicated, caring, and well educated teachers. The staff and PTO put in a lot of extra hours to provide enriching activities for the students and families. Their special education department is fabulous! I challenge you to find a closer knit school of staff and students than Ridge Road. Students who move on to 5th grade from Ridge Road are sad to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

This school is so welcoming and loving. We came from outta country and all have been fantastic to us. My son is excelling and he had been struggling. Everyone had his best interest in mind and we all worked together And got the ball rolling in the right direction. Even the principle cares her student get what the student needs. This is so great. I love the cozy home feeling this school sends along with great academic team. All the teachers and staff are so wonderful. It nice to know that someone is doing there job for the right reasons and this school is filled with great staff that does just that . I hope all my children get to attend this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

Ridge road school in my opinoin is not a very nice school because the teacher are not vey nice and dont teach the kids in the right ways !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

My two sons attend Ridge Road School and we have had nothing but good experiences with them. We have found the staff and teachers to be more than competent, very professional and caring to and about not only the students but other family members as well. The extra-curricular programs are plentiful and rich in content. The support services faculty are A-1 as well. The PTO (Parent Teacher Org.) is a great resource and has an amazing amount of involvement in this small school. Overall, you can't go wrong with this school. It's much better to deal with than any of the other elementary schools, especially Gardner Road. Now, the bus garage is a different story, but that's on the district not this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

I think Ridge Rd is a wonderful place to send your child; my child is in 1st grade (loving it) and I too, went to Ridge Rd. when I was a child. All of the teachers and staff I have encountered are wonderful. My son loves everyone, and what I like best is they all seem to know his name, and know him on a personal level; right down to the cafeteria staff. All programs such as library, music, computer, gym, and so on are great. They go on a six day schedule and that also seems to work very nice. All in all, I am extremely happy to send my precious child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 94% 48%
Hispanic 1 2% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
Black 2 1% 19%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 227%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 12%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anne Marie Bailey
Fax number
  • (607) 795-2485

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 Ridge Rd
Horseheads, NY 14845
Website: Click here
Phone: (607) 739-6351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Center Street School
Horseheads, NY


Cohen Elementary School
Elmira Heights, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT