Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
165 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ave Maria Catholic Academy 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
LOVE this school. The teachers are WONDERFUL and deliver on their promises and then some. My son went from not even knowing his letters to reading and writing in 1/2 a year. He's also learning Italian, Music and Art along with the standard curriculum and he is only in kindergarten! Ms. Lucie, Ms. McManus and ALL the staff are superb. Haven't had a single issue there. I can't say enough good things about Ave Maria. -Fred and Jacqueline Luhn

Ave Maria Catholic Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
My child loves this school. Some of the parents are very nice. They really do all they can to help at the school. Every Staff member and Teacher at the School are absolutely Wonderful. I like the small class sizes. I like the fact they do not tolerate bullying.


Ave Maria Catholic Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
The principal is a seasoned educator. The teachers are very corporative. The majority of the students are respectful and Polite. An excellent catholic school. My kids Love it and do very well there.

Ave Maria Catholic Academy 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
I am thrilled with the education and the staff. Ave Maria Catholic Academy is everything you would want from a Catholic School. I have 2 children that graduated from this school and 2 more going through. I could not be any happier. My older children attended high schools and colleges of there choices, thanks to the foundation they received at OLG/Ave Maria Catholic Academy.

Ave Maria Catholic Academy 2

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
The academics are not what they should be. The principal yeses the parents to death but does not follow through. The kids rule the roost.


Ave Maria Catholic Academy 3

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
Our son attended pre-K and kindergarten at Ave Maria. We were very happy with the pre-K program; however, once he moved to Kindergarten we noticed a real lack of progress with our son's education. He seemed to be falling behind compared to his friends that attended the other schools in the neighborhood. In discussion, we had found that several other parents had made the same observation. As a result we chose to move him to another school. We felt that it was not challenging enough for him, and, though we had wanted a faith based educational program, it appeared that far more emphasis was being placed on religious teachings than any other subject. The school was also very poor in communicating with the parents; sending notices home at the last possible moment (we would find out we needed to send specific items or payments in only the day before they were due). I would have rated the school lower; however, the pre-K program and teacher are excellent and deserve notice.

Ave Maria Catholic Academy
no rating

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
Excellent two granchildren are in attendance and they love school, their teachers, and they are in a true learning enviornment thank you.

Ave Maria Catholic Academy 5

Posted July 01, 2009
- a parent
The academics at Our Lady of Grace are excellent. I love the small class sizes and warm, family-like atmosphere. My child was given the opportunity to excel to his fullest potential and graduated very well prepared to make a smooth transition to high school.


Ave Maria Catholic Academy 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
When my son was entering kindergarten, we were considering enrolling him in a gifted program at a public school since his skills were above average. We hesitated sending him to OLG based on the previous reviews. Since we firmly believe in Catholic education, we took a leap of faith, enrolled him in OLG and have been extremely happy with our decision. Since the arrival of our new principal and pastor, the academic standards have increased tremendously. Our son is very bright and the work at OLG is challenging for him. The principal and every teacher know each student in the entire school by name. We feel the entire faculty and staff care deeply about each student and the students themselves learn to care about fellow students through the school's buddy system. This sense of community is very hard to find anywhere and we are proud to be a part of OLG!!

Ave Maria Catholic Academy 5

Posted December 20, 2006
- a parent
The Our Lady of Grace School has improved dramatically over the past 18 months. The new Principal and Pastor have charged the school with a very positive energy. Parents will be very happy with educational, moral and religious foundation their children come home with. In today s mixed-up world, learning right and wrong can be just as important as reading and writing.

Nearby schools

Ave Maria Catholic Academy
158-20 101st St, Howard Beach, NY  11414
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (718) 848-7440
Last modified Ave Maria Catholic Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top