Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Huntington Station, NY
Students enrolled: 1,836
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walt Whitman High School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I feel that the the school is great .The AP courses faculty is awesome. The guidance department helps a lot. Great teachers do produce great students. The business club DECA is a platform where you can bring out a students entrepreneurial abilities.

Walt Whitman High School 5

Posted January 27, 2013
- a parent
Whitman is a wonderful school. Exceptional staff especially principal and vice principal. Outstanding sense of community and dedication to the students. I am proud to a say my children graduated from Whitman.


Walt Whitman High School 1

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
This school is Anti Christian. They don't allow Christians to wear the crucifix but allow muslims a hallway to pray. This is America. This country does not recognize sharia law. This country follows the law of the constitution. Do not send your children to this school until they stop islamization of this school.

Walt Whitman High School 2

Posted October 15, 2011
- a teacher
The school has many advanced classes, but not so surprising, the top classes are not diverse. They seem to be the dumping ground for the kids of vocal parents, and not necessarily placed there based on their abilty, which makes it harder for those kids who really belong there to get the education they deserve. In the world of education, even in a large school like Whitman, there should only be about 2-3 REAL Honors classes, not six. Parents are being dooped into thinking their child is honors quality when they really are not. Not good preparation for the real world. The care is more about the student being happy and involved in extra curricula activities, academics come second!

Walt Whitman High School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a student
good school learn a lot and look forward to going everyday


Walt Whitman High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Our school is the best in our heart, we got a group of great teachers and students try their best with limited resource to make every high school day experience the best.

Walt Whitman High School 5

Posted January 03, 2007
- a parent
We have one of the best music programs. We win NYSMA Gold Every year. We have a very good extracurricular program and AP program. We have support for the arts and dance. Parents are involved. We have good teachers a solid faculty that support our kids goals and dreams. My kids have been here from 3rd grade thru now at Whitman. They are in AP classes, competitive robotics club and music classes. You want a school that will expose your child to culture and making great choices in life. I'm happy we are here.

Walt Whitman High School 5

Posted May 06, 2006
- a teacher
Major change for the better over the past two years!


Walt Whitman High School 4

Posted December 09, 2005
- a parent
Whitman is a school that offers something for every student. The population is diverse, which some may see as a drawback, but those of us with kids there often see it as great preparation for life. The faculty is dedicated and capable; the administration complete comsumed by the task of running a top school; the extracurriculars are numerous and varied; and athletics...well if you want a great football program, this isn't the school, but lots of other sports do very well. My Kids are very happy here and have made wonderful friends and have superb, caring teachers. It is a well run school where children learn and get involved in their community. There are interseting elective, numerous AP and college courses and a fabulous arts program

Walt Whitman High School 5

Posted May 09, 2004
- a parent
Truly A Great American High School, led by a visionary, caring and compassionate principal. Whitman has a diverse student body that learns and has fun together. Wonderful young and alive faculty too!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walt Whitman High School
301 West Hills Road, Huntington Station, NY  11746
(631) 812-3800
Last modified Walt Whitman High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walt Whitman High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top