Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Irvington High School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Irvington schools throughout are fantastic Teachers and entire staff dedicate their time to teaching Every student to their highest potential It has been an honor & privilege for our 4 children to Attend such an outstanding school and live in such A warm and nurturing community . Irvington Exceeds above and beyond in academia and all sports That's what builds confidence in our children. Dr Mo Wishing you the best of everything in your retirement years and Thankyou for your dedication and contribution to my children's education You are an ACE principal all the way! Woods Family Lauren Mark Dylan&jack Irvington NY

Irvington High School 1

Posted November 27, 2011
- a parent
Such a major disappointment. The school has isolated itself with a principal that began working there in the 1970s and still sees the community from that era. There is such limited insight to helping the students engage in a larger learning environment . But this is public school, and the constraints put upon them by Albany may have something to do with their narrow and cloistered view of the world.


Irvington High School 1

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
An absolute disgrace for a school. Students are loud and extremely over-confident, making it extremely difficult for other kids who are more quiet and dedicated to thrive. The administration lacks fairness and equality. An absurd emphasis on sports while the academic challenges continue to disappoint.

Irvington High School 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a community member
Irvington High School provides one of the best learning environments with small classes, new facilities and great teachers who are patient and willing to educate which can be a rarity.

Irvington High School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a student
i go to irvington right now and im in the 9th grade. I'm brand new to the irvington school district and this is my first year ever. Even though I have ADHD I have found many different friends already. Kids at the school are very nice and welcoming. Also the teachers are always there for me if I need help. Irvington Schools are great for any kid.


Irvington High School
no rating

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
awful for students not in honors classes. teachers neglect and ignore students of average ability or below. honors students bring up there reputation- so there it is! Severe LD may be noticed and addressed if services exist.

Irvington High School 3

Posted January 29, 2008
- a community member

Irvington High School 3

Posted December 16, 2007
- a parent
This school district has changed a great deal over the last 25 years. I find the staff and administration excellent and this is a fantastic school district for a motivated traditional learner. HOWEVER, the amount of emotional problems and substance abuse problems are increasing as well as homes where there is not adequate wupervision.


Irvington High School 5

Posted July 02, 2007
- a parent
Irvington is so lucky to have a fabulous principal (Dr. Mosenthal) and faculty who really care about their students. I feel there is a lot of support for all students and they all do really well!

Irvington High School 2

Posted May 03, 2006
- a parent
Irvington is a great school system if your child does well academically. The district does not care about children who learn differently. Even those with the slightest issues. It has been a huge disappointment for our family who moved here because of the so called great school system. Those who struggle are just pushed through. The teachers do not offer support as needed. I would not reccomend it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Irvington High School
40 North Broadway, Irvington, NY  10533
(914) 591-8648
Last modified Irvington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Irvington High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top