Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Islip Terrace, NY

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East Islip High School 1

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
Lack of real focus on academics. Poor SAT scores. Rigid administration that is not sensitive to the needs of the students.

East Islip High School 1

Posted January 29, 2013
- a student
I'm currently a senior at this school and I wish I went to a private school instead. I had problems with the guidance department since day one. In 9th grade I was put in boys gym (i'm a girl) and they failed to put me into the AP/ honors courses I was supposed to be in. After 5 weeks of fighting with them, they put me into one of the honors classes I was supposed to be in and told me they'd put me in the AP classes next year. That never happened. Every year of my high school career they've screwed up my schedule and have given me such a hard time when I tried fixing it. The only person who really knows what he is doing is the head of the Guidance Department. He also runs the Career Academies which are probably one of the only pluses of this school. The teachers that teach Honors/AP are the only ones who really care about their student's education. The regular regents teachers do the bare minimum and some barely even make an effort to help their students even when they're struggling.


East Islip High School 1

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
Teachers here go to work to collect a paycheck and earn a pension. The Few who used to care are waiting for the pension bell to ring. Every year there is a budget vote with fear mongering and scare tactics, of what the children will loose, none of which matter because when its voted down, there is a revote 1 week later after some "minor changes" and it is mysteriously passed. I have lived here 20 years and have never seen different. What I have seen was a first class school go downhill.

East Islip High School 5

Posted January 31, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

East Islip High School 1

Posted December 01, 2007
- a parent
School is all about sports. And when student defends themselves, they get the same punishment as the bully. Most teachers do care about the students, though. In simple terms, the more money you have, the better you will be treated.


East Islip High School 5

Posted August 24, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

East Islip High School 2

Posted April 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

East Islip High School 2

Posted June 05, 2006
- a student
Great teachers, really passionate and dedicated. However, the district itself, as a result of the board mostly, really brings the school down. It seems that academics come second after sports in this school, and that's really a shame.


East Islip High School 4

Posted April 26, 2006
- a student
Schools good, but unfortunately a lot of programs are getting cut.

East Islip High School 5

Posted March 17, 2006
- a parent
Academic Programs- Students are supported through after school help available before and after school for each subject. Music/Art/Sports are strong, however the music program shines above the rest as well as a great drama program. Parent Involvement is another reason why EI schools out perform most others on Long Island. Ruth c Kinney elementary and Islip Terrace Jr High are at the top. All the EI schools have receintly been renovated and have new computer labs and other facilities to accommodate the needs of todays student with cutting edge technology to assist them.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Islip High School
1 Redmen Street, Islip Terrace, NY  11752
(631) 224-2100
Last modified East Islip High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Islip High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top