Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Ithaca, NY
Students enrolled: 900
 

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


Cayuga Heights Elementary 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
The school is not as diverse as Northeast elementary (also in Ithaca) but it is quite diverse for what it is, which is an elementary school in a fairly affluent area. Cayuga Heights districts its students from several places in Ithaca, not just the surrounding community which is primarily white and asian. Since so many faculty spouses do not work full-time, the level of parental involvement is very high, and the school offers a number of PTA sponsored enrichments, including afterschool courses and a math olympiad. Effort is made to ensure that every child, irrespective of background, stays on course academically.

Cayuga Heights Elementary 4

Posted December 26, 2011
- a community member
I went to Cayuga Heights 40 years ago. Loved it. Still remember it fondly. Anyone else around from that era?


Cayuga Heights Elementary 1

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
If the statement below on diversity counts grad students, postdoc families, and international students at Cornell, I feel then it is missing the point. These people s income situation is short-lived; after graduation, they soon join the rank of middle-class. Regardless of their income level, the culture of the school is elitist and middle-class. There are many affluent children who receive expensive electronic gadgets or game systems for Christmas, travel abroad during breaks, and bring $20 bills (or more) to weekly banking. It is also interesting to note how satisfied some of the reviewers are about the diversity of the school as far as they would like it to get, I think. At the moment, the only full-time adult African American presence is custodian. The school adorns itself with a marvelous display of poems and artworks about MLK Jr. in February, but the attempt strikes me as superficial. Don't feel welcome.

Cayuga Heights Elementary 4

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
Personally, I find CHES very diverse. The international community that Cornell University and Ithaca, in general, draw is reflected in the children who attend CHES. For the most part there are high teaching standards and strong parental involvement and a good music program. It would be great to see more physical activity incorporated into the curriculum.

Cayuga Heights Elementary
no rating

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
Great school, dedicated faculty. Actually larger socioeconomic diversity than is apparent at first glance.


Cayuga Heights Elementary 5

Posted July 24, 2009
- a parent
Very good school. It is one of the best school in ny

Cayuga Heights Elementary
no rating

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
i love this school my kids have been going there for a year and have been doing better than they did in any other school. they have helped my children and given them the help that i have been wanting for them since my son was in kindergarten he is now in 3rd grade. I would recommend this school to anyone who are looking for a good school in ithaca ny. they also work with the parents.

Cayuga Heights Elementary 5

Posted January 04, 2006
- a parent
Very high level of academics. This school scores above average on all 4th grade exams. Many 'extras' such as music programs, basketball program and after school enrichment programs. The parent involvement level is high and parents typically help out in the classroom on a weekly basis.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cayuga Heights Elementary
110 E Upland Road, Ithaca, NY  14850
(607) 257-8557
Last modified Cayuga Heights Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cayuga Heights Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top