Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 145 Joseph Pulitzer

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 2017 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2009

I go to i.S 145 and to all the parents that are douhting if this school is good or not.....Well, i recommend this school 100%! all the teachers are exellent and the principal.....There are no words so that i can describe how lovely and kind dr.Beckham is.....So if i were to rate this school it would be as high as the rating can go! so all you kids that are graduating from 5th grade...Come to i.S.145 Because me have spirit! go pulitzer!!!!!!!!!!!!! =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

i love that school and i go there
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

I go to this school and i am about to enter the 7th grade, I made many friends quick and everything was scheduled perfectly, tending to the students needs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

I just recently graduated from 145 june O8, and i know im going to miss this school greatly. The teachers are wonderful here and care. It may seem like a bad school but it really isnt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2008

i think this is the best school i have ever been to.I like the teachers and there are allways there for us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

well i atended this school about 3 years ago and i thought it was one of the best school until i moved to long island were i really saw what a great school actually is. still Is 145 gave me great opportunities in many way but most kids dont take the time to take them many teachers are really great like ms berry mrs wiley mr winuski and many other but this were 'some of the many teacher that actually change my life and inspired me to do great thing and actually set goals in my life i guess thank to them and my mom im actually achiving my goals like graduating high school and actually making something of myself
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

I am currently a student in this school. I think this school has its pros and cons. Some teachers are really connected to the students and know their field and wor,.but some other teachers are not able to manage some classes and are somewhat careless. One unnforgettable and faboulous thing about this school is thatthey have many good trips and activities. The safety in this school is somewhat poor. This school is fair in homework aand projects because they give you fair amounts.The organization in this school is very low. Ceremony or meetings are constantly delayed in time. But i love that they recognize and praise a students work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2006

I love this school, this school is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2006

this school is a great enviorment for students who want to learm and can stay out of trouble and has a positive attitude toward thier work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 25, 2004

I am a former student in I.S. 145. I believe this school is great. It has good afterschool programs and great festivals and concerts. Parents are very much involved and the teachers are great. I wish I didn't have to graduate this year.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2004

My Daughter goes to 145 I think it is an ok school but everyday she tells me 'mommy there was a fight or mom there is going to be a fight tomorrow and she also said she has great teachers like Mrs.Zeluck and Mr.Matos.I went to that school when I was younger but it changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

642 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

670 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

679 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

709 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

648 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

657 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

656 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students13%
Female13%
Male12%
African American10%
Asian/Pacific Islander25%
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities1%
General population15%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%

Math

All Students20%
Female19%
Male19%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander34%
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities3%
General population21%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students19%
Female20%
Male18%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islander30%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities1%
General population21%
English language learners1%
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%

Math

All Students19%
Female17%
Male21%
African American8%
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities0%
General population21%
English language learners3%
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students20%
Female23%
Male18%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islander44%
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities1%
General population23%
English language learners1%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%

Math

All Students33%
Female34%
Male32%
African American15%
Asian/Pacific Islander56%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities0%
General population37%
English language learners8%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%

Science

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
African American65%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities24%
General population77%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 88% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
Black 1 3% 19%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 12%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 55%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 3601 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents146876%
Students199197%
Teachers14298%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DOLORES BECKHAM

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33-34 80th St
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
Phone: (718) 457-1242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Garden School
Jackson Heights, NY


The Renaissance Charter School
Jackson Heights, NY



Is 230
Jackson Heights, NY


Our Lady of Fatima School
Jackson Heights, NY


Lexington School For The Deaf
Jackson Heights, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT