Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Fatima School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jackson Heights

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $245,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2009

I once thought the school was one of the best in the neighborhood. Unfortunately, its slowly been losing its status. If you have a child with a learning disability/behavior problem(s) this school is not for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

class sizes are 30-40 per class and the younger grades are in trailers in the outdoor schoolyard. They have an early childhood director for some odd reason who does nothing. The teachers must be overwhelmed with the big class sizes & do not pay attention to all the childre or their progression in learning (only what they see through test scores) My kid went there for one year and it was more than enough...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I went to this school and I think that it a great place for child to grow and learn. I learned so much when I was there. It prepared me for high school in terms of work load, subject matter, and performance. Not only that but the faculty are loving and caring people that make it a great environment for kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2009

this school is pretty good. once in a while the children will get a little wild but overall its an average school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

The school is not reall the best school ever but it would be an average schoolto put your child in.The teacher are sometimes unreasonable and the supplies arent so great(desks,books,computers).They also dont have a real gym.(their gym is in the audotorium/lunch room).over all 2/5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

i went to this school, and let me tell you, you would want your child in rolled here. great teachers, and excellent system of teaching
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

This school is so cheap the gym is 3 in 1 auditorium and lunchroom the desks are cheap and old.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2008

I highly recommend OLOF to any parent who is concerned about their childs learning skills. This is a great place to start. My son has a hearing problem and he has to wear hearing aids because he has moderate hearing loss in both ears. OLOF was there to help him in every way. He learned so much. Everyone treated him as an equal and never looked at him as a disabled child. He loved the school, his friends and his teachers. Unfortunately we had to move away and my son is no longer attending there, If we would of stayed in NY my son would have continued going until he graduated 8th grade. Thank you OLOF for all you have done for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I consider OLF to be an excellent school. My daughter has been doing great, the teachers are very nice and respectful as is the rest of the staff and very friendly. I have not had any problems so far. I would really recommend this school to any parent who refuses to place their child in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

i am a 2008 graduate.Our lady of fatima school is great school. i attened fatima from Pre-kindergarten to the 8th grade. ive never had a complaint throughout my many years there. The academics are great. I was on coolege reading level by the 5th grade. this scholl gives just the right amount of discipline, and ythe teachers are the very dedicated and hard working. all children who atend fatima wll surely suceed. I strongly recomend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2008

The school kids act like public school kids and are not discplined correctly. I would rather have my kids in public school than this...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

I think this is a great school. My son went to MPB in Astoria for 5 years and did not do well there. I moved him to OLF two years ago and he is doing very well. He loves his teachers and they really care about the kids. The principal is wonderful. They also have alot of things for the kids, he is in band and also softball. Mr. Joe B
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

i love this school. i'm currently a student and i've attended my whole elementary, and in 2008,i'm going to high school. yeah, the kids are nice but there a few who seriously need a lesson on how to act kindly. i have alot of friends and everyone is nice to me....even the kids who act mean! the teachers are excellent. i swear. they care about you so much. this is kinda geeky but i love the uniform also. olf doesnt give alot of homework and they're reasonable about it! their isn't really any clubs to join though. the principal is extrememly helpful also. she knows alot of kid's names, which i find quite hard considering there's about 800 kids. consider this school; i can't even imange going anywhere else
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2007

i think that the school is the worst school im serious consider yorself warned
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

Even though the student/teacher ratio is high the statistics show this is a great school to help any kid succeed academically and socially. The various activities that the school offers, leads kid to see the school as a second home. Reading is greatly emphasized, children are presented with books since early childhood program. Parents also get their share of advise and training by periodic meetings with OLOF staff giving advise about specific topics about child development and discipline. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

This is a great enjoyable school! The teachers are helpful and want the kids to succeed. There are various sports that kids can sign up for throughout the year. The students are friendly too. I would strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2006

A fantastic caring school! It's so fun and there are nice activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2006

This school is the best ever! they have everything, do everything, and are really nice people! our children are really cared about and taken care of at fatima!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

It's a good School. They care about your children. They are very carefull about their safety. They are fare with the fees. They are understanding about life situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

Excellent and very special principal, great and excellent teachers. and they all work with the parents to make our lady of fatima school one of the best schools in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 21%
Asian 19% N/A
White 8% 52%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cassie Zelic
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25-38 80th St
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
Phone: (718) 429-7031

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lexington School For The Deaf
Jackson Heights, NY


Garden School
Jackson Heights, NY


Is 145 Joseph Pulitzer
Jackson Heights, NY


The Renaissance Charter School
Jackson Heights, NY


Ps 148
East Elmhurst, NY


Ps 212
Jackson Heights, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT