Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
561 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady of Fatima School 1

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
Our Lady of Fatima is not a school!! It's more like a prison!! Terrible place for students to be in as well as teachers!!! Would not recommend this place to anyone!!!

Our Lady of Fatima School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
I'd like to thank Mrs. Rosie Swartwood the school's head secretary who without her there wouldn't be a school!!! She does EVERYTHING in there!!!!! Mrs. Swartwood is compassionate, kind, sweet, helpful nurturing nature!!! She has a warm heart and just a beautiful person!!!!! She has the role of the nurse, parent, secretary, mother, she might as well be the principal!!!!


Our Lady of Fatima School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are very effective! They do ALL THE WORK!!! Including the principal's work!!! The teachers work very hard!!! They give up so much of their time!!!! After school tutoring with no pay, lunch duty, after school, bus duty,, may even have to give up their prep periods because there are no substitutes to take over a class when a teacher is absent or to meetings!!

Our Lady of Fatima School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
The homework load is just fine.. The tests are like every other day!!! That's too much!! I don't know any place that wastes more paper than at Fatima!! There should be more hands on teaching than paper based test!!!

Our Lady of Fatima School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
The students developed psychological problems because of the negative and restricted environment!!! The students are more like inmates that have to report to the warden!!!!


Our Lady of Fatima School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
It depends on the student meaning if the principal likes the child... Yes.. Otherwise No!!

Our Lady of Fatima School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
The compassion, empathy, and caring comes from Mrs. Swartwood, and the teachers.. not from the principal!!

Our Lady of Fatima School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 21, 2016
- a community member
It depends on the child and the status of the parent! If the parent supports the school financially then the child it well liked... For example: A parent donated computers to the school one year.. Their child was treated like royalty!!


Our Lady of Fatima School 5

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
Omg what a school how could anyone not like it. We compared all the other private and catholic schools around the area and it is the best. The tuition is reasonable and they don't have any extra fees. Once my kids got there lady year I was wondering if what I heard about the school was true. I am happy it is. They really emphasize the academics and every teacher stays to help the kids who need extra help after school. Also so many of the teachers run clubs and sports for the kids. The put on great performances. Best of all we just received the scores for the state testing and old scored higher than the NY schools and even higher than the catholic schools. I am so happy my kids are back again this year. Thank you

Our Lady of Fatima School 5

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
I love OLF and my 3 kids are there for 4 years. They learn so much more than my nieces and nephews in other schools. They really care about the kids and keep it strict. The always want the kids to be respectful of the classmates and the teachers. I see alot of teachers doing sports and clubs after school. My husband and me are so happy and also my kids. Now we know that also good academics are in the school because a few month ago we got the scores and this school did so good. We are happy still to know this is happening for our kids. Thank you to every one.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady of Fatima School
25-38 80th St, Jackson Heights, NY  11372
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. (718) 429-7031
Last modified Our Lady of Fatima School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top