Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 212

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 792 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2009

This school has good teachers that care and go out of there way to make the parents of the student be involve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love P.S. 212. I have never seen staff, especially the counselors, that care so much for their students. Everyone is helpful and the kids do not not feel alone. Ana Araujo is the best sapis counselor ever. P.S 212 is lucky to have her as part of their team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

What makes this school so interesting is its cultural diversity. We love planning events that incorporate the food, dance and music of all the different countries we represent!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

P.S. 212 is great! We have a great staff and very supportive parents. I am so glad to part of such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My daughter works as a teacher at P.S. 212. She can't stop talking about her "kids" as though they were her own. It's a second home for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

It is a close knit community where every teacher and parent know each other. Our principals are supportive and always look out for the interest of the students with teacher feedback. Our children are put first and we try to incorporate educational enrichment programs in order for them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

We absolutely have the best staff! We are not a just a school.....from the security guard to the principal, we are a family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

PS 212 provides for a warm, loving and nurturing environment. All the staff are dedicated and work collaboratively for the continued improvement of the school. The spirit of teamwork and the sharing of best practices in the teaching/learning process are vehicles that promote continued success in this school.


Posted September 17, 2009

P.S. 212 is promotes multi-cultural activities so that children can better understand one another's heritage. Encouraging multiple after school programs such as Pachamama (Peruvian arts) reflects PS 212 richness in diversity and willingness to introduce them to their students. As a Latina it fascinated me to see children of all backgrounds reaching out to learn about each others heritage .. As a Latina who grew up in Jackson Height NY, who has contributed with the programs, interacted with the principal and students, I am more than delighted to highly recommend this school !


Posted September 17, 2009

This school has helped my two children learn so much and so many things. I am proud of my children and I am so glad I put htem into this fantastic school. P.S.212 is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great teachers and a excellent school for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

A great school with amazingly talented, compassionate and dedicated staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

P.S. 212Q is a great school because they try to meet the needs of every child. They recognize all the different cultures that make our community great.


Posted September 17, 2009

We've always put our students first. We have A lot of dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Ps. 212 is a great school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I am a parent from this school and I like this school because my daughter which is in high school now learned in English in that school and it was very good for her. She learned about subjects and right now she is in one of the best high schools. My other daughter which is in that school right now is about to graduate and she also learned english there and has a good aducation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

PS 212 is a wonderful school with the best interest of every student guiding the teaching
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

PS 212Q has a staff of caring, enthusiastic professionals who devote their time above and beyond the norm.


Posted September 16, 2009

IT's a wonderful school that cares about the students and parents. They are using cutting edge technology to teach the kids in ways they can resonate with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Teachers at this school work very hard to provide students with an exemplary education while incorporating the latest technology to gain and retain student interest. I enjoy working at my school and look forward to changing lives a little each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 75% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 16% 9%
White 1 7% 48%
Black 1 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 218%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 268%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 49%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 624 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents57985%
Teachers4583%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CARIN ELLIS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

34-25 82nd St
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
Phone: (718) 898-6973

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Renaissance Charter School
Jackson Heights, NY



Garden School
Jackson Heights, NY



Ps 69 Jackson Heights
Jackson Heights, NY


Ps 148
East Elmhurst, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT