Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 222 Fire Fighter Christopher A Santora School

Public | PK-2 | 340 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

P.S. 222 is an excellent school with a warm and caring staff and administration. My child is enrolled in the dual language program which is fantastic. My only issue is with the current Kindergarden dual language teacher who needs to brush up on communication and personal interaction skills. Despite this, the kids flourish and I would still recommend this program to parents. Parents will also be very pleased with Ms. Silva, the pre-K dual (excellent!!!) as will as Mr. Jason, music, Ms. Basta, gym, as well as the Mr. B. Hope this was helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Elementary School starting Kindergarten thru second grade. School Emphasis in writing. Principal is always present from greeting the children in the morning til they leave the school. They have a strict rule of "No Bullying" which they enforce. They care for every child to help their needs in education. Great teamwork! Parents are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

My twins didn't knew a word of English now they have a decent command of English knowledge more than enough to satisfy my expectations. Spelling and understanding of words are not to mention. Not just this they also know how to add and subtract in small numbers which I think is great achievement for any kindergarten kids. I have friends in my work place NJ they have complimented the development in my kids. I am more than happy sending my kids to PS 222 which is the second home to my twins. I have no complaint with this school. It just shows how the Principal and Teachers of this school care about their students. No one is perfect so I would give 4 star review for PS222 and leaving 1star room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

This school is a neighborhood gem - it has far exceeded our expectations. The principal is open and warm, and listens to parents' concerns and has even responded to me via email in the wee hours of the night. It is a small, tight knit community of Spanish speaking and English speaking parents - and there has been more involvement via working and non working parents who have volunteered on movie nights, math nights, purchased a stage, painted stage back drops, pushed for more arts. My son is in the dual language program and the teachers are phenomenal ... getting creative despite the new state demands for what kids have to absorb even at the K-2nd grade level. Jackson Heights is a best kept secret - now this school and my son's accelerated yet creative learning environment just makes this an even better neighborhood to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

I had to take out of that school my child because of this teacher and her way to treat the kids. My child got sick there. The principal does nothing. She does not listen to parents. This teacher shouldn't be there anymore. All parents complaint about her. But for the principal all parents are wrong. My child speaks, reads and writes Spanish fluently, but I don't know how she put 1 on my child's report card... UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Pre-K teachers Ms Skopelitis and Miss A are wonderful but they need to fire the police woman at the front desk. She isa power tripper w/no manner and has anger issues. The principle Yvonne is a bit patronizing but the jurys still out on her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

This is a great school, excellent teachers, friendly and warm environment, the principal is very dedicated and devoted:) I'm very happy that my daughter is studying there. It's a wonderful School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

This is a wonderful School that has so many great programs and extra help for students. Would highly recommend this school! Very dedicated teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

I don't care for this school at all. My daughter went there for pre-k and I never fet welcomed by the principal. The teachers were very friendly. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

Great school if you can get in. Only Pre K, K, First and Second Grades. Wonderful small school that is totally focused on the kids. Great music and art programs and less about the tests. My daughter is in the dual language and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 76% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 16% 9%
White 1 7% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Black 2 0% 19%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 47%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 11%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 42%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 251 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22974%
Teachers22100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. YVONNE MARRERO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

86-15 37th Ave
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
Phone: (718) 429-2563

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 89 Elmhurst
Elmhurst, NY


Ps 212
Jackson Heights, NY


Ps 280
Jackson Heights, NY


The Renaissance Charter School
Jackson Heights, NY


Ps 69 Jackson Heights
Jackson Heights, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT