Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillcrest High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 3084 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

it is an amazing school and I recommend it to a lot of people. people who think its bad s crazy
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2014

I have nothing to say but to ask God to help everyone who has anything to do with this school. I'm attending this this because there's no way out for me but I would escape this jail in a heart beat if i could. I would advice everyone and anyone to not go there! Worst school in the history of mankind. This school will never improve no matter what!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2013

This school is actually pretty good. The teachers are very helpful and kind to you. Yeah there's a little problem with the metal detectors once in a while which can be overcrowded and it makes you late to class. But other than that everything if fine you just have to be selective of your group of friends and you'll be fine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2013

This school is horrible. I felt like I signed a cellphone contract with this school. There are anyflexibility and their are not many choices sometimes. The school won't be a place to help you through your struggles. Most teachers grade you with no rubric. Its a surprise. Biased to be. I can't wait till my "contract" ends in June. I liked my experience with some teachers who helped me. But all in all this school is not a first choice aspect.


Posted February 14, 2013

This school and it's principle puts band before education and excuses ahead problems! God forbid you try and take your child out of marching band to allow them more time to study after school because your theatened with pulling your child out of all band programs. And it doesn't matter that your child makes A's and B's in all other classes and one teacher gives everyone zero's. they have an excuse for that to! Don't get me wrong Hillcrest has good teachers but the principal needs some principles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

Hillcrest High School is an okay school (6/10). I attend Hillcrest High School and it is not the best. The classes are unorganized. The Honor classes are mixed up. They put very low average students in the class and the smart kids are in the regular classes. There are metal detectors and it may be smart, but it's not. Students sneak it in anyway possible. The school is okay when it comes to teachers. The staff aren't great. They literally curse at you and will punish you harshly. For example, no I.D. you will get suspended. You don't have a schedule, your going to get suspended. The school is very different in ethnicity. Its 55% black, 35%Asian (Muslim) 10%Hispanic. The halls are sometimes clean. You can find burgers on the stairs. if you spill something on Friday, you're going to see it on Monday. The halls are always crowded. There are always fights in the cafeterias.(3rd & 4th). There are about 8 SLC's or Academies. Out of all the best are the Pre-Med and Business and Tech SLC. The schedules are very unorganized. The kids aren't from the same SLC's. Its very mixed. When applying for H.S, you should avoid this H.S. If you live close to the school, go at least to Thomas Edison HS
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2011

the school itself is okay it has alot of classes and smaller academy's to chose from but there are a few students in it that make it a very uneasy place personally i wouldn't send my kid there and i can't wait until i graduate next year
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2010

they are a dedicated and hard working school. i really think they are doing great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2009

My daughter is a freshman in the Pre-Med Academy. So far she loves it! I met her teachers at parent teacher conference and I was impressed. Her Science teachers- Earth and Chemistry are very supportive and are always looking for new ways for the students to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

As a current junior, i think the school is ok. Its not the best, and its not the worst. I would have felt a little more safer if i would have went to Thomas Alva Edison a couple blocks down if i could have. Honestly to me, its not about the school itself, its about the people that are there, and who you hang-out with and what you do after school . If you seek trouble you are Destined to find it in this school. The Staff of the school are very helpful and nice. Just stay on their good side =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

I worked at that school during a blood drive and found of all the schools I worked in,this one the staff and the chrildren were so very nice. I feel they care about there school and the staff really puts 100% into helping there school really produce good chrildren.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

flooded with student, high passing and graduating classes. pre med program is considered the best in the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

my grandson is a sophmore at hillscrest. a great basketballteam, great teachers ,and coaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

hillcrest has changed alot since my freshman year ---- i am a senior now and part of many school activities. Hillcrest is safe and much better than it used to be when i heard of it . Check the school out its really different.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2008

Why would people think that Hillcrest is a bad school ? I am attending that school and my parents are very happy with it. It has a pleasant atmosphere where the teachers encourage and help you to learn and better understand something. And i can tell you this from experience. It is not in a bad area nor is it a bad school. Whoever thinks its a bad school needs to tell me what is so bad about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

My daughter tells me that Hillcrest has great teachers but she doesn't feel safe in school. She tells me that her school is very dangerous. I can't recommend this school if it isn't safe for children no matter how good teachers are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

The school's curriculum is below average due to the low expectations of students from the teachers. The divided institutes puts a limit on students interacting and mixing neglect the idea of diversity. It creates division among the student body.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2008

I think this school is awesome. It offers many programs for students. Its a great school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2008

Hillcrest high school has given my child everything she needed to start college and life. The teachers are great and as someone said to me--it's a blue ribbon school all the way. Thanks Hillcrest High!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

I must say hillcrest high school is a very good school because me being a student in the pre-teaching program I am learning how to become a teacher and doing hands on experiences which is a good thing. I am very happy to have this experience ^.^
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
22%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

617 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

1537 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

51 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

885 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

1440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

1105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

225 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

919 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students32%
Female28%
Male38%
African American22%
Asian/Pacific Islander40%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners25%
Proficient in English32%
Not migrant32%

Chemistry

All Students45%
Female39%
Male57%
African American40%
Asian/Pacific Islander48%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant45%

Earth Science

All Students45%
Female42%
Male50%
African American39%
Asian/Pacific Islander59%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities11%
General population49%
English language learners39%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant45%

English

All Students60%
Female68%
Male52%
African American62%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities30%
General population63%
English language learners29%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant60%

Geometry

All Students54%
Female53%
Male57%
African American42%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities24%
General population56%
English language learners68%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant54%

Global History and Geography

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
African American56%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities27%
General population66%
English language learners39%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%

Integrated Algebra

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
African American62%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native American90%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities34%
General population71%
English language learners57%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%

Living Environment

All Students61%
Female62%
Male59%
African American59%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities34%
General population65%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%

Physics

All Students63%
Female60%
Male69%
African American58%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant63%

U.S. History and Government

All Students73%
Female73%
Male73%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities35%
General population77%
English language learners56%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 37% 9%
Black 1 37% 19%
Hispanic 1 23% 23%
White 2 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 215%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 180%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2354 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents102336%
Students118440%
Teachers14786%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • MR. STEPHEN M. DUCH

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Humanities
  • Medical
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Sciences
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - Q1, Q110, Q111, Q112, Q113, Q17, Q2, Q20A, Q24, Q25, Q3, Q30, Q36, Q4, Q40, Q41, Q43, Q54, Q6, Q65, Q76, Q77, Q8, Q83, Q9. Subways - E, J, Z to Jamaica Center - Parsons - Archer; F to Parsons Blvd
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

160-05 Highland Ave
Jamaica, NY 11432
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 658-5407

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT