Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 140 Edward K Ellington

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 639 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

this school is horrible if you want your children to know how to fight and defend there self sure send them here because there will be a fight everyday
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

My pre-K teachers Ms. Watson and Mrs Elzarafy along with the TA's Ms. Guandecki and Ms. Emeri. are very caring and I trust them with my children. My 4 year old has been writing his name since 63 days in school. My twin 4 year old has been writing her name in 80 days. They're both learning site words and counting like little geniuses. I am very satisfied with the teaching they are receiving at Edward K Ellington. If I have any complaints its the school hours which are not conducive for a working parent. But that compliant can be shared with any school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

I don't even know where to start with this school. This is THEEEE WORST SCHOOL ever. My daughter started in the school as an A's and B's student now her last report card she has eleven 2 and two 1. Almost everyday my daughter comes home she said there was a fight either in the classroom or somewhere in the school I don't understand where there so many teachers plus the principal yet they not doing anything about those fights. very sorry
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

I don't care what people say about the school its just that their children are the students who are stubborn at times with behavior problems and don't want to respect the principal and staff members cause they wasn't taught to do it . Mr Norman is an excellent principal who is patient with the kids he don't believe in suspending them he give them a chance. So if you don't like the school take your child elsewhere so that you will stop complaining it will just make him look better and .


Posted April 15, 2013

I recall being in 140 many years ago, everything was much different from what it is now. Sure there were children who misbehaved but Mr. Defraitis and Ms. Brittenum always had everyone under control . The teachers especially, at least the ones I had: Ms. Ramos , Ms. Edwards and Ms.Miller were extremely strict , they did not tolerate the nonsense I see today whenever I pick up my baby brother form school. Whenever I pick up my baby brother from school there is so much chaos, it worries me because little kids are there cursing,listening t rap music, pushing each other and acting like animals and well the lunchroom after school is just the worse. There are kids fighting on the floor , where is the Principal to do something about it , because I've observed the staff and honestly they do not look trust worthy at all ! This is all very sad because I have really good memories of PS140 and right now I'm just watching it go to pieces.


Posted March 14, 2013

As a former teacher at P.S.140 I was happy to learn that the school was removed from the "phased out" list, because I believe that the school serves a wonderful community. I feel that the current administration did not approach the restructuring of the bilding in the best possible manner. The first rule of thumb is not to purge the building of its staff, but to observe and make relevant changes. Instead the current administration came in and completely changed everything, even those things that were producing positive results. I hope that with this second chance that the school administration will take a deeper look into how they do things. There is a proverb that states " a fish rots from the head down" simply put this school is failing, because of its leadership. I am not saying Mr. Norment is not a good leader. I am saying he is a leader, who does not listen to the people he leads. His focus is on getting rid of teachers instead of providing them with avenues to become more successful. I am a strong believer in the education of our children and that the BEST teacher should be in front of the classroom, but we must encourage teacher growth not destroy it. Good Luck 140.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 13, 2013

PS 140 has went downhill since Ms. Brittnum retired. The new Principal Mr. Norment is always in a meeting when you want to see him. He has more meetings than President Obama. The office staff is horrible and they don't help you at all and the new teachers favorite answers are Well I don't know let me ask Mr. Norment but guess what he is in a meeting. I have been dealing with this school since the 90s when my son attended he is 25, my daughter also attended she is now 18 and I have a 10 year old attending now. This school is the worst now. Everyone is just there for there paycheck and no one cares anymore. The old staff at PS 140 was great this new staff is horrible including the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

A FORMER STUDENT... I use to go to school here like when i was six or seven..i am a light skin male ..and as a child i dint no nothing about hate and color ...but i learned there.. we did more coloring than learning and played out side the most..that was cool sence i was young .but as i got older it was just a waste of time...THE SCHOOL IS BEING WORKED ON LIKE FOR TWO YEARS NOW THAT SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING. Out side recreation is out. theY took away the basket ball court that i grew up with.ALSO WHY IM WRITING 20 YEARS LATTER some thing HURT MY HEART ... walking and i saw two brown skin boys picking on this light skin little boy kicking him and his older sister tried to get him of of them and they did not seceed..and way it BROUGHT BACK MEMORIES.. not a got school AND AS WE SPEAK THEY ARE STILL FIXING IT..MY COMMET TO THE SCHOOL.. no matter all your fixing it has a bad name ..AND BRING THE COURTS BACK SO AT LEST THE OUT SIDE KIDS CAN PLAY...WHAT SCHOOL CHAINS IT UP pease


Posted December 1, 2012

Mr. Norment is not the worst Principal! He has only been at PS 140 for a little over a year. The problems he had to deal with were left from the past administration. Anyone who has truly come into the school for the last year has seen the changes. Let me clarify, 1. Mr. Norment has created more opportunities for parents to participate with school by creating progress reports, a new school website, monthly newsletters to parents. 2. Mr. Norment purchased something called I-Ready to help our children practice reading at home. 3. He has given the school a new paint job. 4. The disgusting looking main office looks beautiful now. 5. Norment is in front of the building most mornings and is outside during dismissal. He cares about our children. If parents have come to any PTA meetings they would know that he had to let go of many staff members because there was limited funds to keep them. Most of the people making these negative attacks have never talked to the man and are probably airing out an individual personal problem with him. I would personally like to thank Mr. Norment and I am glad that you are at PS 140. Dont worry Norment, most of the staff and parents support you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

My children have been in this school since Pre-K & my oldest is now in 4th grade. This school was not a great school a few years back but now its definitely one of the WORST schools ever!! Ever since Mr. Norment became the principal of this school everything went downhill. He hides behind the A.P & accomplishes absolutely NOTHING. The children run wild & curse at him. I've seen it & heard it myself! There is a lot of bullying going on in this school & they do NOTHING about it. He has NO control of the children. When Mr. DeFreitas was in the school the children were respectful & it was a safe environment. He spoke to the parents & address any issues immediately. He made sure kids were not fighting after school unlike the current principal who does NOT care about our children. There are SOME good teachers in the school but the Principal & Assistant Principals are the WORST EVER!! Its been 6 years since my child has been there & I never had any complaints until NOW! This month I have been in the school office more than ever with different issues. I am so disgusted & upset with the leaders of this school. Currently looking to change my kids from this terrible & unsafe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

This is one of those schools that could be really great.. but it is not. Unforunately, there is a sub-par principal who relies to heavily on his A.Ps. I have been sending my kids to this school for some time now and it has gotten worse! Behavior is out of control, some teachers really try but any parent who is looking for a good school.. don't send your children here. Duke Ellington wouldn't send his children here. I feel bad for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

WORST. SCHOOL. EVER. The classes are over-crowded, students are out of control and the teachers are unable to manage them. I get approx. 3 notes per week re: my chatty 6yr old, but I don't even get the courtesy of a phonecall when she's send home with scrapes, bruises or a horror story of being bullied. I am often told that her teacher and other authority figures in the building ignore her complaints and just tell her to "have a seat". Seems the most sensible person in that building is the security guard. And don't call the office with an actual question...either you're bounced around and eventually "disconnected" OR they just don't know....It's like every sub par DOE employee was placed in one building. I went to this school for 2yrs as a kid in the 80's and was eventually pulled out and placed in catholic school because it sucked then...PS 140 STILL deserves an F in my book. My daughter will NOT be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

i attended Ps 140 in the 80s this was a very bad school then . from some of the reviews it appears nothing has changed


Posted January 16, 2011

I agree who say that p.s.140Q is worse school ever in my life and is the stundent who are misbehaving
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2010

This School is by far the worst school I have ever seen. The teachers and staff have no control over the students. There are fights everyday with kids constantly being bullied. The children at lunch time are subjected to listening to rap and hip hop music in the auditorium. My wife and I was shocked one day when we picked up our children early to see students on stage grinding on other students and shaking there butts on stage and through out the auditorium. The school staff has done nothing to stop the bullying with the children my kids are constantly coming home with bruises and are constantly picked on cause there ethnic background. I can't believe the city of New York is allowing this to happen to these children a change is serverly needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I would not recommend this school to anyone. It is very unorganized and the teachers are not on point as much as i would like to see. There is a lot of bullying in this school and no effort to do anything about it. There is hardly any parent involvement and of the 6 years my son has been in this school i can honetly say there has only been 2 teachers that are above average in displaying teach quality. Very disappointing. Submitted by a Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

I've been a teacher at P.S.140 for 7 yrs and I must say I have found my home. I have worked in some of the neighboring schools and schools in other boroughs. I have not experienced a school like P.S.140, a school that teaches well, nurtures well and completely caters to the well being of students, staff and community members! At P.S. 140Q. We put academics and safety first. However, we have many extra curricular activities and programs that cater the interests and the talents of our studentts! We are a very organized school with a loving and safe environment! We are a family! for those parents who questioned our organizational skills and said you wonder how our entire day goes, why dont you spend a day with us, ask questions and see for yourself instead of assuming? Why assume when you can learn the truth? volunteer sometimes!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2010

I have 2 children that attend this school on in the 1st grade and one in 2nd grade. the teachers, staff, and Principal are great! My children had attended a preschool prior to attending P.S. 140 and were below their grade level in academics. Last year 2008-2009 was their first year in P.S. 140 and the they are now in the top percentile. I give the school 10 thumbs up! As far as discipline we can't always blame it on the school. The parents have to get more involved. The school has so much to offer if only the parents would just take advantage and give of their free time. So for the principal and her staff keep up the good work. Parents get involved! it takes a village to raise a child. Erica N.B.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

I have 2 children is this school a 3rd grader and a Kindergartner while the school seems to educate well. There discpline and structure could use a massive overhaul. I would never allow my youngest to even enter the auditorium for arrival or dismissal as it is a madhouse. There is apparently very little supervision during these times, that parents are around which leaves me to ponder what it must be like at other times. Lunchtime must be a very chaotic time in this school. As for the teaching aspect straight a's across the board, my children are learning at such a high rate. I must credit there teachers for a wonderful job done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I fave 2 children in this school one entering kindergarten and one going to 3rd grade. I have found this school to be very disorganized in there discpline methods. Arrival and dismall isare both a mad house that would scare any visitor or new child. On the other hand my third grader is slightly advanced over his peers and teachers have keyed in on it. So fot that I am proud of the teachers for doing and outstanding job. Overall i would not recommend the school if you like a good structred environment for you child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 79% 19%
Hispanic 2 13% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
White 2 2% 48%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 288%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 46%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 425 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents39181%
Teachers3497%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID NORMENT

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

116-00 166th St
Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone: (718) 657-4760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 30
Jamaica, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT