Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Jamaica, NY
Students enrolled: 139
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Al-Iman School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Sent my student here for 2 years and it was the worst mistake a parent can ever do. they focus more on religion and not so much on education. their curriculum is lacking severely. many of the teachers here not even qualified to teach in NY. They are mostly teachers from back home such Pakistan and come to al-iman to teach. They have no teaching degree and can barely speak English. Save your time and money. This school is not worth it.

Al-Iman School 1

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Unqualified teachers with no degree and can not speak English. Way behind NY state curriculum.


Al-Iman School 1

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
THe principle and administration need to change , they represent islam very wrong. The principle walks around with her behind jiggling and a shirt not long enough to cover it , you can see hr underwear line. Also they make no mistake showing their hatred for the sunni community and often embarrass the kids of that sect. The education is poor and some teachers take their frustration out on the students. Sr Mangala is a prime example of that , she teaches arabic and has the most awkward approach to problems and giving discipline.
2 people found this helpful

Al-Iman School 1

Posted July 11, 2013
- a parent
This school is the worst school you could put your child in. Everything about it sucks!!!!! Dont waste your time with this school. Its not worth it!!!
3 people found this helpful

Al-Iman School 3

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended this school since Pre-K. The good: 1. The curriculum has always been rigorous, which I admire; however, may be too much for the young grades. 2. It is an Islamic environment. The bad: Needs new leadership; organization is lacking. The office is rude and inattentive. They will completely ignore you and if you have questions, it's like pulling teeth-no eye contact, no respect. There is no PTA. Also, the teachers in the younger grades seem really overwhelmed. I send my child here due to lack of options for Islamic education; however, I will remove him after the school year is over. Not worth it. As a busy parent, I stopped in the school one day to see the principal; I was told she is busy and I will need to make an appointment. There was no reason I couldn't wait in the office to see her (throughout my public school years, the principals were always available on a whim). I didn't receive a call with an appointment until almost a week later! As a borderline neurotic parent, I evaluate the entire experience and this school just doesn't cut it. A real shame because they have potential.


Al-Iman School
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
For its quality education, discipline and observance of moral codes of Islam.

Al-Iman School
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
It is a bastion of whole and holy as it aims at developing well-balanced students with academic achievement and behavioral excellence.

Al-Iman School 1

Posted August 19, 2003
- a parent
Unqualified teachers and poor leadership.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Al-Iman School
8989 Van Wyck Expy, Jamaica, NY  11435
(718) 297-6520
Last modified Al-Iman School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Al-Iman School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top