Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Archbishop Molloy High School

Private | 9-12 | 1544 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jamaica

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $280,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2008

I am the mother of one graduate and one soon to be graduate. It is a great school academically, socially and spiritually. Although it is on the big side the teachers and staff were caring and involved. The strict discipline and dress code helped my son and when I needed to talk to staff or teachers they always called or emailed back. After school help and counseling were very good. Mom of 2006 and 2008 grads
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

The best highschool for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Love the school. My son is a sophomore and he is doing really well. The teachers are great and very involved with the students. I do disagree with the curve for honor students. My son's regular math class was ahead of honor's math throughout entire year but honor students receive 5 pt curve. A little frustrating. I am happy with their extracurricular sports. A lot of discipline. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

As a parent of three AMHS students, (two graduates), I cannot say enough about this HS. Not only is the education superior, my children met great friends and teachers there. When it came time for college, they advisors were 100%. There are so many clubs, there is something for everyone to join. Never have I ever seen a more organized facility in every aspect of education. Most important, my three children not only got an A-1 education, and went on to fine colleges, they emerged wonderful young adults with a good feeling of themselves. If not for the educators there, this could not happen. I can say that AMHS graduates will provide us with genuine honest people in what ever venue they choose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

Archbishop Molloy is a challenging, but welcoming High School that has a great spirit of cooperation among its students. There are great extracurricular activities (sports and non-sport related).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 1, 2006

Caring staff, rigorous college-preparatory curriculum, full range of extra-curricular activities. Top-notch, since the transition to co-education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

Great education, wonderful environment, great teachers, overall excellent education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2004

As the mother of the ist graduating coed class I will say my child recieved the best education possible both academically and spiritually, archbishop molloy hs has cultivated her into a person that is both smart and has a love to help others. I am very proud of the young woman she is
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 52%
Asian 18% N/A
Hispanic 15% 21%
Black 11% 21%
Two or more races 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Catholic Elementary Schools in the Diocese of Brooklyn
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School Leader's name
  • Thomas Schady
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (718) 849-8251

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Handball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Catholic Elementary Schools in the Diocese of Brooklyn
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

83-53 Manton St
Jamaica, NY 11435
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 441-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al-Iman School
Jamaica, NY


Bethel Christian Academy
Queens Village, NY


Tiferes Torah Institute
Kew Gardens, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT