Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Ungraded
Private
Jamaica, NY
Students enrolled: 276
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Summit School (The) 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a community member
The teacher that wrote the comment that Summit students are better off in mainstream classes because of their cognitive levels clearly does not understand the requirements of providing a Free And Appropriate Public Education. This teacher speaks in ignorance!! It is very sad that an educator who should know that the needs of the whole child have to be considered in making educational placement decisions seems to believe that because children have average or above intelligence, that fact alone warrants placement in an inappropriate class where the child is unable to function or produce academically. Accommodating disabilities to foster learning IS APPROPRIATE!!! Throwing children with dissimilar disabilities in a 12:1:1 or 15:1 class is irresponsibIe and serves no legitimate purpose other than to save the DOE money in mis-educating disabled students. Worse, offering General Education with SETTS to children with dyslexia, CAPD and speech challenges is morally reprehensible!! Yet, the DOE does this to parents who don't know any better every single day. I have seen it with my own eyes. I'M GLAD THIS TEACHER NEVER TAUGHT MY CHILD!!!!!

Summit School (The) 1

Posted January 12, 2014
- a community member
I've never seen so much arrogance in one setting. I'm ashamed of being an alumnus of such a dismal place.


Summit School (The) 1

Posted November 08, 2012
- a student
Authority, respect & structure go hand in hand with success! Something I learned from my parent who has always been actively involved in my education. That is why I respect authority & understand why schools like the Summit school require structure. Because it is a school for students with a wide-range of special needs, disabilities, OHI, ED, etc., obviously adjustments have to be made to fit each individual students needs. In the case of a student with a neurological disorder who has involuntary symptoms, a "system" like the one the Summit school has, based on rules with punishment or reward is ineffective just as it would be for students with seizure disorders. Two of my former teachers at Summit Upper school humbly adjusted. Hopefully their attitude rubs off on school leadership. I am very happy to say that I have found learning success elsewhere! So have others I know who used to attend Summit. Its interesting to read the review from a parent whose son has been attending Summit for 50 days, "My son does very well with structure & clear rules so this system really works FOR HIM." A Star for Summit & "MI" for More Improvement (Message approved by Parent)

Summit School (The) 4

Posted October 27, 2012
- a parent
My son has started The Summit Upper school this year. He is extremely happy in school. The teachers know how to lift the children's self esteem and teach the kids in the way that they learn best. There is a lot of positive reinforcement all around. My son does very well with structure and clear rules so this system really works for him. I speak to the staff often and they always address our needs and concerns. I have 3 other children in different private schools and they do not get the attention and guidance that my son gets in The Summit School. I think he is a little under-challenged, but for now its ok for him. He's getting a lot of skills in dealing with his anxieties. Once he is a little stronger, I will push for him to be in higher level classes. I think its important for the parents to be very involved in the school and speak with the teachers often to make sure the child is getting the most from the school.

Summit School (The) 2

Posted August 14, 2012
- a community member
I am a NYC School Parent Member. Summit has challenging academic programs that pave the way for students future goals. The teacher who rated the Summit Upper school on March 23, 2009 naturally highlighted the school in that area. Note the remarks about the Summit Upper school from Parents, a Teacher and a Parent Advocate from 2009-2012. "VERY RESTRICTIVE, TOO RESTRICTIVE, TAKES ADVANTAGE OF STUDENTS, RESTRICTIVE SETTING, OVERLY RESTRICTIVE." When determining what school best fits your child with special needs, dont agnore what counts most...your childs emotional needs. After all, It's not always about where the student will go after H.S., it's also about the students self-esteem, dignity & pride during H.S. that shapes who they will be after H.S., after college and into the future. Think About It: You would not send your car to a repair shop that is known for doing great repairs to the outside of a car while damaging the seating on the inside of the car.


Summit School (The) 3

Posted February 16, 2012
- a community member
I am a advocate of parents of students with special needs and I am a parent of a student with a medical condition that does not allow the student to attend mainstream school. The Summit Upper schools ideas and goals OFFERED are marvelous. Homework is given out in a reasonable manner that does not make the student feel overwhelmed. Unfortunately the disciplinary actions by long-term staff is negative and over restrictive and takes away dignity from the students with special needs who deserve to have their self-esteem lifted. The school "team" as they refer to themsleves, require humility so that they can accept advice on how to promote positive reinforcement strategies that work in the classroom. The long-term class assistants that over monitor the students need to be monitored themselves. The schools overall potential can be improved tremendously if they are willing to humbly make positive adjustments in their form of discipline. Knowing when its needed and taking into account each INDIVIDUAL students need verses characterizing students. I look forward to hearing that the Summit Upper school has improved in that area.

Summit School (The) 1

Posted September 30, 2011
- a teacher
The students here are at or near grade level in their academics, meaning that educational achievement in a regular classroom is possible. The problem with students at Summit is that they do not show their abilities in the regular classroom, which is a criterion for a more restrictive setting, which would be to receive alternative instruction at home. These schools should be left for students whose education in the regular classroom, even with the aid of special materials and supportive services, cannot be achieved. Students with disabilities have to "earn" their right to be in regular classrooms. Students at Summit didn't "earn" it. So why should the school work hard to use appropriate accommodations to provide full access to a general education curriculum? We are wasting valuable special education services that truly belong to the more severely disabled children such as people with mental retardation. Full-inclusion programs could be implemented but no, the state rather waste services on more functioning children. So excuse me for my lack of sympathy for the children at Summit School but when unfairness occurs, it seems very appropriate to express that.

Summit School (The) 1

Posted May 15, 2011
- a teacher
This school is disorganized, as it does not cater to children with disabilities. It also caters to the at-risk population destroying the progress of disabled children. I would not send any child struggling with a disability here. They are better off at a separate school specifically designed for students with disabilities or at a mainstream school. HORRIBLE SCHOOL that takes advantages of students with disabilities by allowing them to interact with at-risk students (non-disabled students). The fact that it accepts non-disabled students to this institution proves it's not a separate school specifically designed for students with disabilities.


Summit School (The) 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
This school is structured, nurturing, supportive, academically demanding/enriching, and the children for whom it is the right fit all LOVE it and thrive. As with all schools for special children, there is no "one size fits all" but Summit does a wonderful job reaching children like mine who is very creative, very bright and plagued by a reading disability and Aspergers. The school effectively engages the children and teaches them to make a contribution to the world around them.

Summit School (The) 5

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
Please ignore the reviews that debate special school vs. mainstream. If your child can handle the mainstream environment, great, but if that's not appropriate for him/her, there's no better place than Summit. The staff really, really care about the kids, they have a host of strategies up their sleeves, and, unlike some other schools we've tried, they partner with the parents to understand the child and his strengths and weaknesses. I'm sooooo happy we found this place, and my son seems happy for the first time in years.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summit School (The)
187-30 Grand Central Pky, Jamaica, NY  11432
(718) 264-2931
Last modified Summit School (The) is a Private school
Summit School (The) Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top