Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
185 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau 1

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
If your child has special needs forget it. Principal is awful. Very exclusionary environment. Disappointed.

Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau 1

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Where do I begin? Small class size because no one goes Dirty old school Feeble Jewish curriculum Nothing for special ed. Very horrid for different leathers. The academics are sub par Very little good to say. Liked parents and kids Disgusting old grounds Switched son to yeshiva which was weird for me bc I'm not practicing Also gave up expensive Jericho taxes public schools If this is future of conservative Jewish Ed we are in trouble I also was turned off by lack of male staff Do we need all female rabbis to make a point?


Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Outstanding educational experience with very high standards. Small class sizes that focus on individual needs and growth of students. Extended days allow students to spend half the day learning English subjects and half the day learning Hebrew and Judaic studies. The school alerted me about OT needs of my child and assisted me throughout entire process. School even worked with me to get summer services for my child so that my child will not fall behind. Students are educationally stimulated and challenged in all areas and are physically active. Students do not sit in a classroom all day long; they move around. Huge gym and outside play area. The library is even set up for children to "hang out" quietly. The arts and sciences are strongly emphasized and all children participate. There is a student-run garden. The school also composts and recycles. The teachers and staff truly know how to make learning fun. I especially love that there is a very strong focus on community service, student participation, self-awareness, and awareness of global events. Teachers and staff are always responsive and attentive by phone, email and in-person meetings. Most parents are very involved.

Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
This school is about the academics and much more - it is about educating in the true sense of the word

Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau
no rating

Posted October 03, 2010
- a community member


Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau 4

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
Caring teachers, staff and family community along with a great secular as well as judaic education.

Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau
no rating

Posted September 26, 2010
- a parent
great environment. caring teachers and staff

Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a community member
Schechter has a great sense of community.


Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
Shechter provids our kids a great foundation for the jewish heritage,personal attenition and a great sense of community.

Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau
no rating

Posted September 23, 2010
- a parent

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau
1 Barbara Ln, Jericho, NY  11753
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (516) 935-1441
Last modified Solomon Schechter Day School-Nassau is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Top