Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Katonah, NY
Students enrolled: 336

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Harvey School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Harvey is the best thing to ever happen to my sons. Both, very different types of people and learners, have thrived and flourished in this incredible learning environment. Be it academics, the arts or athletics, everyone is given the chance to succeed and make their mark. Bullying is severely frowned upon and it works. Kids are able to find their niche at Harvey being led by caring and devoted teachers and a warm and friendly administrative staff!

The Harvey School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a community member
Great faculty, environment and extracurricular activities. New leadership is taking the school in the right direction.


The Harvey School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
The Harvey School in Katonah is a wonderful school where students thrive. They have a dynamic faculty who encourage, support and challenge the students. My husband went to Harvey and loved it. Now, our son is there and he loves it. The film and theater dept. is exceptionally inspiring even for non theater types. There is a warmth at Harvey that just isn't always there at other private schools. Students go on to great colleges, IVY league and otherwise. I always say a school is only as good as the feisty parents behind it and this school has some of most energetic, professional and competent parents I have ever encountered.

The Harvey School 4

Posted November 19, 2010
- a parent
I have two kids in the Harvey Middle School. We brought them to Harvey because our kids were getting lost in the public system. They were too smart to get extra help from the public schools but needed more educational support to reach the excellence status. Harvey has delivered excellence in this regard - both are enjoying school again, are making honor roll and are regaining their confidence to succeed at a high level. The teachers take the time, are skilled in educating and communicate constantly with the parents by phone and email. My kids actually prepared and followed a study schedule for the week before exams! This was not happening before we sent them to Harvey. Additionally, both kids are individuals in their own way - they didn't fit the traditional "popular" mode and public school was making them fee insecure about this - at Harvey, differences are truly embraced and valued with both kids coming through adolescence with their self-esteem intact. The culture and support at Harvey is exceptional - our kids are happy, kind, well-adjusted and well educated - exactly what we were looking for their middle school experience to be.

The Harvey School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
Harvey is an exceptional school. Great teachers and caring staff. Superior eductation and athletic opportunities.


The Harvey School 5

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
Do you want your kid to be inspired? Do you want your kid to love to learn? Do you want your kid to have teachers who know him/her? Do you want your kid to like things you never thought he/she would like opera, Latin and poetry? Do you want a kid who loves to go to school everyday? Do you want a school that challenges your kid and provides a logical, well-rounded and well-executed curriculum? Do you want to be a person and not a number? Then, look no further than Harvey. From a parent who put their 2nd child in Harvey after a disappointmenting experience with a bright John Jay student (ie: 30 kids in a class, eating lunch on the floor, having no practice because there were no fields, teachers that don't know students' names, teachers that can't teach - just to name a few items...)

The Harvey School 5

Posted September 26, 2009
- a parent
Funny thing about reading these negative reviews - we could not find anyone with actual experience with the school say anything but good things about it - including Administrators at other schools who have their kids here. We have been exceptionally pleased with our experience with the school. The teachers and administrators not only 'talked the talk', but 'walked the walk' as well.

The Harvey School 1

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
This was a solid school years ago. Unfortunately, it has lost its way. The lack of clarity of mission has led to a lack of support for teachers, and ultimately a bad experience for students. Can your child get the necessary grades required to get into the college you desire for them? Yes, just demand it, if that is all you seek. Will your child get the type of education required to thrive in that college once admitted? This is a big 'maybe', and depends upon whether your child is lucky enough to interact with the small number of great teachers who will succeed in any environment, even one that is as fractured as this one. But hurry, because the great ones are unlikely to stay here long. If they are forced to stay for economic reasons, the greatness will be beaten out of them, if not they will leave soon.


The Harvey School 2

Posted January 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

The Harvey School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
I don't understand the bad reviews for this school. My son attended a couple other private schools with little success. We found Harvey and he thrived. He is now attending Columbia University, which would not have been possible without The Harvey School.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Harvey School
260 Jay Street, Katonah, NY  10536
(914) 232-3161
Last modified The Harvey School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
The Harvey School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top