Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Andrew's Country Day School

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

Our school is best known for its writing-intensive Theme Program.

 

Living in Kenmore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

St. Andrew's Country Day School has been a gift to my family. My daughters are both receiving a very sound academic base, and are definitely given the personal attention they need in the classroom setting. In addition, they have tremendous opportunities to grow outside the classroom through soccer, swimming, girl scouts and many more extracurricular activities. The focus on visual and performing arts contributes to the well rounded nature of education at St. Andrew's and is marked by our newly opened Art Gallery on-site! The element that convinces me that St. Andrew's is the best place for my daughters: THE PRODUCT. Our students in 6th, 7th and 8th grade consistently work to be the best examples they can be for the younger students on the sports field, in the classroom and during weekly school masses. Year after year St. Andrew's graduates can boast exceptionally high acceptance rates to area Catholic high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2014

A great choice for all families with children from 3 years old to Grade 8. The academic curriculum follows STREAMS, science/technology/religion/engineering/art/mathematics and social studies, integrated and focused on achievement of the New York State Core Standards. The Catholic identity is priority and highly visible in this school. The climate is: Love and respect! All school constituencies are one big loving and goal-oriented family. Students are well behaved and character awards, as well as honor and high honor awards are presented to those who excel. School safety is continuously monitored and promoted in daily activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 18, 2014

I graduated from St. Andrew's and proudly send my children there along with the children of other alums. They receive a top notch education in a nurturing enviroment. The teaching staff is excellent, innovative, approachable, and responsive. The families of the children come together as a big family to welcome all and put on events and functions the entire community. The students strive to live and learn by christian ideals and are very welcoming and tolerant of each other and others. The music, foreign language and sports programs nurture the whole child. An elite education for working families. www.standrewscds.net
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

We love SACDS! We have 2 children currently enrolled and one that has since graduated and is in High School. The administration, teachers and staff are all warm, welcoming and exceptional at whatever they do. The Theme program is beyond compare and our oldest was told upon entering high school that they can always tell a St Andrew's graduate because of their theme experience. Even if you are considering a public high school, as we have, I highly recommend a faith-based education at SACDS to prepare your child. You won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

St. Andrew's has become my second home, I never went to catholic schools but my husband did and he was persistent on our children going also. I never hesitated to send them because of my personal experience in public schools. When we chose St. Andrew's I never Imagined how much my life would change. I became a part of a special family and got real involved. I met great friends and the atmosphere has always been welcoming. My children are doing very well in there studies, I see some of the work that comes home and think "wow that's a lot" or "what is this" the level of education and support our children get in our school is above and beyond, not to mention our great teachers who are always there with a helping hand for us parents and our kiddos. I feel terrible for all of the catholic schools that have recently closed, the loss of a family and the transmission alone would be a lot to cope with. There are not very many catholic schools left but i'd have to say St. Andrew's Country Day school is an excellent choice. We have a new principle who is amazing and so positive in every aspect. I truly love this place and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a "GREAT SCHOOL".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

This school is a second home to our family. My children have made wonderful friends and are academically achieving. The teachers go above and beyond their responsibilities. We have a new principal this year and she is a tremendous administrator. Dr. D is leading the staff and has added many great programs to the school day and after school.She has great communication with staff, parents, students, and the parish. St. Andrew's is not only a school but a community. Everyone truly cares for each other and there is always someone to lend a hand when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

We love St. Andrews Country Day School. Our family went through a closing and when we started to look it gets very confusing for the children. I let my boys pick the schools they wanted to look at after all they have to attend daily. After touring and shadowing at two schools they both said absolutely St. Andrews, they told us that it felt like their school that closed a friendly and loving environment that they wanted to be part of. So we enrolled and its been two years that we have been part of this great family and our boys are really happy they chose St. Andrews. We know have one amazing principal, so full of energy and focused on growing our school to new heights adding new programs and clubs for all students. Dr. D is really amazing if your one of the unfortunate families whose school closed I understand. Our family encourages you strongly to take a tour and schedule a shadow day for your children you will be amazed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

My School has just proved once again that their core values are why I send my son there. In the wake of the revitalization, our Home School Association met after hearing the decisions of the diocese. Our Pastor, Msgr. Siepka and our Principal, Dr. Dimitrievski, both spoke compassionately about the schools that were closed and how they wished all could have stayed open. Our leadership committee came up with ideas to express sympathy to the families that have been affected in our cluster. It was clear that there was an atmosphere of love and concern for others. To treat others as we would want to be treated if we had been chosen for closing. True Christian values at work. Every child deserves to grow in this environment where words like caring, sharing, love, and kindness are played out each and every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I went through a closing 2 yrs agoe and it was hard, but St. Andrew's welcomed us in with open arms. I am sooo greatful for everyone at that school and can't see my daughter going anywhere else! They have soo much to offer and my daughter is always soo happy! Trust me when i say you will love this school when you visit there...you walk in and just feel at home. I am soo proud we are a part of the St. Andrew's family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Luckily for St. Andrews the principal has been replaced and many of the concerns have appeared to have gone away. The new principal is professional, energetic and dedicated to improving the entire school from safety of our children, to an increased focus on academic success and actually accomplishing what she sets out to do. I believe St. Andrews is much better hands than it was even 6 months ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

Excellent school and excellent faculty and staff. Every child should be so lucky to attend a school like this. If you are considering enrollment for your children, there are no other schools that can compare to St. Andrew's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

Great school. All day Pre-K program excellent. Highly recommend. The teachers and staff are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

This is a great school! Parents, send your childeren here! The kids and teachers are so sweet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

Love Love Love this school. Love the teacher Love the staff Love the strick rules
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

This school is so sweet and nice!! Great kids here unlike some other schools where it is very rough. No roughness here at all...there is allot of clubs you can join which is very fun and you get a great education here! I highly suggest this school!


Posted May 6, 2010

St. Andrew's has provided an excellent academic and social environment for all children who have and still do attend. All children are different. St. Andrew s does a wonderful job off meeting the diverse needs of their student body. Further, they provide a safe and healthy environment for all. I can say from experience they would not ask a student to leave unless he was hindering the learning environment of his peers. I am certain the faculty and staff did their best to meet this students needs. I have never met or spoken with a teacher who was rude or did not do their best to help a student. Of course Ken-Ton did a good job, they have much more resources than a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

Disappointing, I sent my son to learn to be more structured,organized,focused in a nuturing, patient Catholic Ed. for middle school. Academics are great & my son has kept up, but zero tolerance of a child with mild APD, or behavoral issues. They recommended him to leave, find a school that specializes in area,with less kids. Special Ed. Teacher, never spoken with or given us any recommendations. Ken-Ton Ed. dept. very helpful. Some Teachers & principle at school seem unkind, rude & inpatient & they tolerate similiar behavior from other children toward my son. Way to make us leave!! My son is not violent, loud or rude, but has become angry & frustrated, something we never expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

Academics are good, especially theme. Teachers are excellent people, staff is great, principal is a tough character-seems to really be bringing standards to a new level. This school had always been the best for years and he is bringing it back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

I'd like to add my comments... Regarding extra help, there;s tons of it...a reading and a math center staffed by quality teachers with lots of experience working to meet the needs of kids, two special education teachers, speech and vision support, and OT and PT supplied by the Ken-Ton district. They also haveteachers are willing to stay after school to help students. But, the school isn't just about the students who are struggling. There is also advanced placement programs which are superior to any other school around. Eighth graders in the program graduate with two high school creditss - in math and science. The quality of these advanced teachers is also excellent. And let's not forget the students 'in the middle' - they are challenged just the right amount. Plus, there is an after shcool program which is available for school holidays and even summer camp! You can't beat that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

St. Andrew's is an excellent environment for children. There is a wonderful caring staff that is there to provide support for all children. As for the comment that there is no help for children with disabilities, I know that there is a special education teacher hired by St. Andrew's to help their students along with the services that are provided by the district for children. I believe that St. Andrew's is the only catholic school to have their own special education teacher on staff. If that isn t a school trying to accommodate all students then I don't know what you are looking for. The caring staff works with all students and takes extra time to make sure that all students get what they need. We have been very happy with the education our child has gotten and plan to send our other children there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 52%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
Black 2% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Macedonian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin (in singing)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Macedonian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. kathy Dimitrievski
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (716) 877-3973

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Modern Socratic Method
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin (in singing)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Macedonian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Holy Name Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Ice hockey
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Bread Baking Club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Folk Dance Club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Grant Writing Team
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Students typically come from these schools
infant daycare or homecare

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $3000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
tax credit when available

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Canisius High School
Mt. St. Mary Academy
St. Joe's Collegiate Institute
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1545 Sheridan Dr
Kenmore, NY 14217
Website: Click here
Phone: (716) 877-0422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT