Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 99 Kew Gardens

Public | K-6 | 813 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 21, 2014

My child is going to sixth grade this year. He has had a great education here at 99. He's been here since kindergarten. Anytime I've had questions I've gotten answers from the teachers and the parent coordinator. Even the administrators are happy to answer your questions. I've dealt with them a few times and seem professional. It's true that the students don't get much play time outside in the annex but how can they if the school doesn't have a real playground. The parents that complain about this should realize this. I have always taken my kids to the playground and to extra activities outside of school. My child loves the school and all the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2014

We have had an amazing experience with PS 99. We were very happy with the teachers, the level of instruction and the safe and nurturing atmosphere of the school. We would love there to be more outdoor playtime, but we have a very happy child, and that is the most important thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

To the parents writing on June 20 and 24, 2014: Thank you for expressing your points of view. Our family has made similar observations about PS 99's inadequacies, many of which are rooted in the principal's self-aggrandizement, denial or brushing aside of parental concerns, a freezing out of parents brave enough to ask questions, and a complacent academic culture My child had a "lost year" in second grade with an overcrowded (33-student) classroom and teacher who spent more time on her iPhone that resulted in a disorganized atmosphere. Further confirmation of this came when, at the end of the year, my child brought home classroom workbooks that were nearly blank. Two other parents with kids in the class told me their children's workbooks were hardly used. How were our kids spending classroom time? We, too, were frozen out after asking questions. At every conference over our five years at PS 99, no matter the teacher, our child's report card grades where read aloud to us (as though we couldn't read them ourselves). None showed a real understanding of our child or offered a qualitative assessment of her abilities and areas that needed improvement. Smug principal; complacent teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

P.S. 99 is nice school with hardworking teachers. However some teachers are very absent minded and routinely will come to work after the school day starts as if they are too busy to come to work on time. I feel that this year was a school year lost for my child. Many times my son would come home saying that his teacher would just yell at him and other students. There was no structure in his classroom, and the teacher would never respond to letters or phone calls. The principal at P.S. 99 is not in touch with reality, and routinely will take out her frustrations on other administrators and teachers. She pretends to care about the faculty, staff and students but she puts on a fake smile and ignores the concerns of the parents in the community. She will be the first one to tell parents that everything she does is for the children, but everything she does is for herself. Because of these reasons I would not recommend P.S. 99 as the ideal learning environment for other children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

PS99 IS A GREAT SCHOOL. THE CHILDREN PUT ON A MAGNIFICENT PEEFORMANCE FOLLOWING THEIR CHAMPIONSHIP BASKETBALL WIN. I SEE ALL VERY HAPPY CHILDREN.


Posted June 20, 2014

A ghastly administration and teaching staff make for a terrible experience for students and parents alike. You have teachers with alternate career aspirations who (not surprisingly) are poor teachers, teachers who think that constantly screaming at their class is a teaching methodology, teachers who won t allow students to participate in certain programs without justification, and teachers who assign homework without have taught the subject in class. Students are assigned excessive take-home work that still doesn t help the 73% of students who failed the state test last year. Then, there are the times your child comes home with anecdotes that clearly point to teacher conversations with dismaying double-entendres. Teacher s whose mean-spirited attitudes and general incompetence are ignored. Then, there are the teachers who bend over backwards for bullies from troubled families, making it all the worse for the victims. It s known that if a parent asks intelligent questions or files a complaint/request, subsequent parental follow ups and communications are ignored, and methods are used to freeze the parent out in an attempt to force the parent into falling in line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

Principal is extremely rude and talks down to adults she never met. What a condescending attitude! Nobody should work for her. If I talked to my employees the way she does, I wouldn't have anyone who would work for me.


Posted May 13, 2014

Decent school but the security guard in the Annex building is extremely rude if you need to pick up your child early if they are sick, or sign in for any other reason. It is true that you are greeted with much hostility when entering the building, as though parents are trespassers, according to another reviewer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

This school is extremely nurturing and inviting. The school is a firm believer in the arts and you can see that as soon as you walk in. The parent coordinator is great at responding to parent concerns and providing resources. The school offers a lot of parent workshops., too. Administration does a really good job of making sure each child gets the services they need so they can excel. The teachers work really hard and communicate frequently with parents. It's a great place for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

Problems with PS 99: 1. No playground or recess; 2. gym and music classes are routinely doubled up 50 kids per class a clear UFT contract violation; 3. two-thirds of kids did not pass the NY state test; 4. a hostile administration that ignores you in the office; 5. a parent coordinator who parrots the admin's party-line; 6. a principal who won't answer e-mail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

We think PS 99 is quite mediocre compared to nearby PS 144, 101, and 196 in test scores, academic culture, and nurture. The "leave it to us" attitude of the principal presumes parents aren't capable or won't help their children. A palable hostility greets you as you enter the building, as though parents are trespassers. The lunch ladies badger kids throughout the period with loud whistles and threats of "sitting on the wall." Little graded homework comes home and writing assignments don't appear to be check and commented upon, as though the 40 minutes your child spent doing it isn't worth a single comment. No wonder parents are surprised when they receive their child's report card. The focus of this school is remediation. There's little attention to the middle and top academic performers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My oldest just completed K and is entering 1st grade. So far, so good! Both he and I are pleased with 99! I only wish the annex had a bigger playground so the kids can go outside more often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

PS 99 is a fantastic school ! The teachers are so professional, knowlegeable, absolutely caring, and gave very personal attention to the progress of my child. My son entered this school as a Kindergarden Special Education student. PS 99's Special Education program is astoundingly effective! My son loves this school! Of particular note, is the Kindergarden Special Education teacher (we'll nickname her Ms C for these purposes) who has to be one of the best teachers in her field! PS 99 recognized my child's academic ability and worked very closely and personally with us to place him in a less-restrictive environment. The schools' speech services are amazing and very, very effective. The school's Vice Principal (we'll nickname him Mr. S for these purposes) committed direct, personal time with us regarding our son's skills, needs and modifications to his educational plan. PS 99 is diverse and the Annex building is very nice and modern. I would absolutely recommend this school !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

This is a great school. My son is in the 5th grade. He has been in this school since the 1st grade. The school is very diverse, the teachers, faculty and all the staff are very involved. My son was able to attend this school because of the No Child Left Behind. I am so grateful for the opportunity my son has been given. I was not happy with the schools in my area. P.S 99 does not have overcrowded classes or problems with bad behavior or bullying. My son loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Best school ever. Great programs ans great teachers. A great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

PS 99 is the bestest school in queens.Princeple,teacher, and whole staff are very copreative, and very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I am a current student of PS99. I really like this school. It has a great T.A.G program and great and dedicated teachers. This is my last year and I'm really going to miss this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2006

The school has an excellent gifted program and very hard working teachers. There should be more emphasis on phonics for the early grades, however. Parents are active and the school has many opportunities in the arts.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2006

This school has a gifted program and many artist-in-residence programs. Teachers, particularly in the upper grades, seem very organized and dedicated, with well disciplined classes. This school gives a lot of attention to students to pass standardized tests.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2005

Great city school with a diverse population. The staff is great and has a wonderful PTA. My son has been in that school for 4 years and we wanted to move several times but didn't because of the school. The class sizes are reasonable considering it is city school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 37% 23%
White 1 29% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 27% 9%
Black 2 7% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 213%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 167%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 54%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 621 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents47069%
Students98100%
Teachers5396%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAULETTE FOGLIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

82-37 Kew Gardens Rd
Kew Gardens, NY 11415
Phone: (718) 544-4343

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Kew-Forest School
Forest Hills, NY




Ps 51
Richmond Hill, NY



Al-Iman School
Jamaica, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT