Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Kingston, NY
Students enrolled: 1,936
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kingston High School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I think this school is wonderful. It has many subjects to choose from. My son is very happy here. He has many friends and goes to the extracurricular activities, of which there are many! I would encourage the kids to do the activities. There is security also. The thing that needs to be improved is some of the buildings. There are very old. I think the basement needs much improvement.

Kingston High School 2

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
I have had my son ...an A student go down the tubes here....they try to blame everything from being a single parent to drugs....whatever they can,,,problm is over crowding....teachers doing drugs ivolved in worse things than they accuse my child of...its all about the money and waste of tax payers money ....bad system that needs to be overalled for the real world


Kingston High School 2

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
Everyone should read. the book Why Children Matter byJohann Christoph Arnold....It really is truth of why so much bad goes on in the schools and the need for contol and money in the school systems that take away from our children . I see shorter comments so why do I have to extend this...comment ended

Kingston High School 1

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
Does Kingston High School Take Bullying and Assaults in School Seriously? No they really can care less.

Kingston High School 4

Posted July 13, 2011
- a parent
Kingston High School has an incredibly talented and devoted faculty along with the full range of basic and special interest clubs. My son is a 2011 graduate and completed his senior year with 28 college credits after successfully completing 6 AP courses. The curriculum is rich and diverse and offers opportunities for students to pursue particular interests by enrolling in half-year courses developed and taught by faculty (ie. Chemistry and Art). While the overall condition of the building, with a couple of notable exceptions such as the cafeteria, library and auditorium, are largely unchanged since my graduation some 30 years ago, the quality of the education is commendable. I would agree that if you have a child who is not involved in the academic and social school community, there is, beyond a doubt, trouble to be found - that is where the parent must step up to the plate, keep conversation open, support smart decisions and remain, more importantly than ever, INVOLVED!!!


Kingston High School 4

Posted July 30, 2010
- a student
KHS is a great school if your child is involved in its various extracuricular activities(and there are toooonnnnnnns), but if children aren't they have a tendancy to get lost and do bad things (skip,fail drugs,ect.). And while some parts of the school is in disrepare they have recently redone the auditorium and the cafeteria. And only upper grade students in good grade standing with no referals may leave campus during lunch and all students must wear i.d. cards for even more security. Also, they are installing new bleachers in the gym.So while the school has some issues, they are trying to improve conditions in the school.

Kingston High School 4

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
This is a very good school for kids who are good students, who have good social standing, and who want to take advantage of an amazing variety of clubs, sports and activities. My daughter is an honors student who doesn't have time for all the activities she wishes to take part in! There are so many good things, and teachers volunteering their time. You have to know your kid. Mine is one of the ones that stays in the school and is where she's supposed to be. If a student is struggling, has social or self-esteem problems, or is likely to get caught up with the wrong crowd, you may have to monitor them closely at this school. It is a city school and there is a certain amt. of the population of kids that leave the school, skip, do drugs, etc. Talk to your kids, be involved.

Kingston High School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
I also submitted a review on the Nov. 10th, which I put up there in haste after visiting the school and seeing the appearance of the place. Now I would like to say that the teaching staff here seems to be doing a good job educating my son. He is on the honor roll and enjoys going to class. He has plenty os extracurricular activities to participate in, and I can see him turning into a young man. I wish the school was in better repair, but I have no complaints about the teaching staff here thus far. Excellent job especially Mr. Fitzgerald and Mr. Bowman!


Kingston High School 2

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
There should be no open campus, that's when the kids don't go back to class or end up in a fight, but that is just some of the children, not all. I am a 1990 graduate of KHS and the inside does look the same. My daughter will be graduating in 2010 and she gets packets for work...Isn't something wrong there?

Kingston High School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
KHS, is suffering from bad management. There is no urgency. There is no imaginative thinking taking place on the School Board, Administration and in the parents groups. It has become a district of silo's where each department is left to fend for itself. Sports raise money for sports, Music for music.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kingston High School
403 Broadway, Kingston, NY  12401
(845) 331-1970
Last modified Kingston High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kingston High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top